1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Sony Vaio PCG-TR3A Drivers

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by zwiredz, Apr 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zwiredz

    zwiredz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Ok so here has what happened. I had to reformat my Sony Vaio PCG-TR3A for a friend, and now when I try to install the drivers it's saying it's not for my laptop's model. I've tried downloading drivers from everywhere including Sony's website. Any help appreciated.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    Right-click MY COMPUTER, then click Properties - Hardware - Device Maanger.

    What's currently listed in these headings?

    Display Adapters

    IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers

    Network Adapters

    Other Devices

    Sound Video And Game Controllers


    ------------------------------------------------------------

    Here is the drivers and software download site for the Sony VAIO PCG-TR3A laptop.

    ------------------------------------------------------------

    What version of Windows XP is installed, and does it include SP3 and all the post-SP3 high priority updates?

    ------------------------------------------------------------

    You need to download and save and then install Intel INF Update Utility 9.3.0.1019 first before you install any of the other drivers.

    Select the download link for the .exe file.

    ------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. zwiredz

    zwiredz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    It's SP3, and I have tried to install the drivers from Sony's site. It says it's trying to install it for the wrong computer model. And I just downloaded the chipset driver.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    You haven't replied to the FIRST part of post #2.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    Is it XP Home Edition or XP Professional or XP Media Center Edition?

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. zwiredz

    zwiredz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    It's XP pro SP3. The laptop is dead at the moment and the charger is at a friends so I will get back to you on part #1 of the post.
     
  7. zwiredz

    zwiredz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    [​IMG]
    This is what happens when I try to install drivers from sony's site.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    Double-click those 4 question mark (?) entries in the Device Manager - which will display their properties window.

    Click the "Details" tab, then select "Hardware Ids".

    You will see one or more strings that have VEN_####&DEV_#### as part of it.

    Write down and submit those vendor and device codes or submit screenshots of them.

    Those vendor and device codes will identity those devices.

    -----------------------------------------

    The Intel Pentium M processor is rated at 1000 MHz(1.00 GHz), but it appears to be running at only 595 MHz - about 59% of its rated speed.

    Go to Control Panel - Power Options.

    Change the power scheme to "Always On".

    Click Apply - OK, then restart the computer.

    Go back into the system properties window and see if it's now running at or very near its rated speed.

    -----------------------------------------
     
  9. zwiredz

    zwiredz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Ok just set the power option to always on, then restarted. Now when It boots it beeps twice at the Vaio screen and doesn't go past it.
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    Changing the power scheme to "Always On" is not going to cause any issues.

    What it will do is allow the laptop's processor to run at its rated speed instead of at a slower speed.

    I've had that setting change done here numerous times in other threads.

    I'm not there, so I don't know what you did or what happened.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. zwiredz

    zwiredz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    I literally just changed the power setting then restarted. I think the HDD came unplugged, therefore giving me the 2 beeps at bios. I need to get a small phillips head, and take it apart (again). After I have done some looking around inside I will get back to you.
    EDIT: It started up. Strange. Anyways I am going to get you those ID #'s now.
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    Okay, good. (y)

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. zwiredz

    zwiredz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Driver ID's
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  14. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    Vendor code: 8086

    Device code: 103D

    The ethernet controller is an Intel PRO/100 VE model - which is a very common one for older Windows XP computers.

    The most current Windows XP driver is 17.0.200.2 (8.0.47.0) and can be downloaded from here.

    Select the download link for the PROWin32.exe file.

    Download and save it, then close all open windows first, then install it, then restart the computer.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  15. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    Expand these headings in the Device Manager:

    Display Adapters

    IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers


    then submit a screenshot of it.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1050769