Solved: Sony Vaio

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bababouyaw

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
10
hello everyone
im having a hard time firguring out what i need to completely format my laptop.
on some forums ive noticed people talking about recovery cd that i dont have cuz its a second hand laptop. but ive been working with alot of files lately and its getting kinda messy so i want to format everything and start back at 0.
ive had experience in the past formatting my desktop pc but i dont know how different it is to format a laptop. i have all the drivers needed backed up on an external hard drive along with all the important files im going to need. is it as easy as restarting and pressing F10 or is there a different way in windows 7 to do this ? also this has been bugging me for a while now , why do i have 2 program files in my c drive ? thank you .
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
1,312
If you have a recovery partition, chances are you can restore your PC back to the factory image.

If there is no recovery partion, you can either purhase or borrow an installation disk that is the same OS version as your current PC, and formay your drive/install Windows.
 

bababouyaw

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
10
If you have a recovery partition, chances are you can restore your PC back to the factory image.

If there is no recovery partion, you can either purhase or borrow an installation disk that is the same OS version as your current PC, and formay your drive/install Windows.
Hey TekTime , thank you for your reply.
is there a way around having to borrow or purchase a recovery cd ? cant i just do it the way i have mentioned in my original post by pressing F10 and having a complete format ? i have a windows 7 cd and the laptops drivers, what else is required to be able to have it running ? thanks again.
 

bababouyaw

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
10
might i add that when i first got my laptop it had windows xp running which i had to format later on and install windows 7.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Then just put the W7 disk in and do a fresh install of windows 7...it will delete all existing data
 

bababouyaw

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
10
hmmm...when i had to install the windows 7 over my windows xp it kept some of the previous already exsisting files even after windows 7 was installed , thats why i asked about why i had two program files in my original post , but it was quite a while back i must of asked for help and got the answer to install windows 7 as a secondary operating system cuz i havent backed up the drivers back then...but now that i have them backed up on an external hard drive is it safe to reinstall windows 7 and deleting all previous data ? and would that completely make my laptop "right out the box" new ?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
No it won't make it like when it came from the store because it had XP on it...the only way would be if you used the F10 key function on startup....if it has a recovery partition....however it may not and it also may be damaged when you install the W7.

Do you have Windows 7 drivers for the laptop?
 

bababouyaw

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
10
i'm sorry its just that the further i get into details about a certain thing the stupider i get :p
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
I'm a bit confused....you have a laptop that came with XP........so the any discs that came with the PC is for XP ..drivers aswell.
 

bababouyaw

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
10
since then i have downloaded the windows 7 drivers for the latop , ohhh is that what u meant by windows 7 drivers ? then yeah i have the windows 7 drivers if thats what u were refering to, all backed up on an external hard drive. sorry for misleading.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Then you should be good to go if you have a Full Install Windows 7 disk....just put it in and choose a fresh install
 

bababouyaw

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
10
:D:D:D

is there an option on this site rewarding points for the best answer ? thanks for bearing and helping me through this. Cheers!!!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top