1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Sound Missing

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ohdah, Jan 24, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ohdah

Ohdah Thread Starter

Uploaded a PC game and the sound became distorted, days later
    it stopped completely.
    Do not even have windows start up sounds.

Using win 98 SE

Please put suggestions in Layman terms as I am not a PC expert.

Thanks

2. ~Candy~

~Candy~ Retired Administrator

Open the volume control icon in the lower right hand corner by double clicking on it. Then go to options, then properties (in the upper left hand corner), make sure there's a check mark in all the boxes under show the following volume controls (when you have a black dot in the playback).....is anything muted besides, perhaps, microphone?

3. endeana

endeana

Sounds like to me you've lost your drivers. The software game you are trying to use must have corrupted or overwritten the drivers for your sound card. Go to start, settings, control panel, and then double click on systems. Click on the device mgr. tab and look to see if you have any explanation marks in your sound icons? If you do highlight them, click on properties, then click on update driver and have your CD that came with your sound card and reinstall the drivers.

Mark

4. Ohdah

Ohdah Thread Starter

Nothing is muted in volume controls.

In the device manger:have 6 icons under Sound/video/game controllers.
    Only 5 have anything out beside them.
    In order:
    1st is Blank
    2nd: ALS120 logical device 0 wave Audio device
    3rd: ALS120 logical device 1 internal midi (OPL3)device
    4th: ALS120 logical device 2 joystick device
    5th: ALS120 logical device 3 external mide (MPU401) device
    6th: wave device for Modem.