1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Sound (volume) through speakers is very low

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by lil_tubagirl, Apr 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lil_tubagirl

    lil_tubagirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    I just purchased a new PC and installed the speakers from my old system. The volume I'm getting is barely audible even with the volume settings up to the highest settings.

    These worked fine on my old PC. Any suggestions?

    Thanx!
     
  2. putasolution

    putasolution

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,823
    when you say "volume settings up to the highest" is that on the speakers or in Windows?
     
  3. JRSellers

    JRSellers Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Aww, I wanted to ask her that. :) People also don't seem to realize that's there's 2 kinds of popups, not just web.
     
  4. lil_tubagirl

    lil_tubagirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    The speakers themselves don't have a volume control on them. I have the Master volume set to the highest it can go & I also went into the help guide & made sure they were set to maximun through there.

    I made sure the plug was all the way into the jack too.
     
  5. JRSellers

    JRSellers Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Maybe it's a bad sound card.

    Oh, almost forgot, does the sound card itself have a volume control on it?

    My old Soundblaster did.
     
  6. lil_tubagirl

    lil_tubagirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    If this helps, when I open up the Master Volume COntrol the bottom says "Realtek AC97 Audio"

    Thanx!
     
  7. lil_tubagirl

    lil_tubagirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    How can I tell if the sound card is bad? I've only had this one a week or so
     
  8. putasolution

    putasolution

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,823
    it will be a built in soundcard. Slap me all you want, but I am going to ask a dumb question. the speakers are inserted into the correct socket?
     
  9. lil_tubagirl

    lil_tubagirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    LOL I checked to be sure and yes; it is plugged into the correct socket. If I had to check them asking certainly doesn't warrant a slap. :eek:)
     
  10. lil_tubagirl

    lil_tubagirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    JR, When I opened up the master volume somewhere I found properties and made sure everything was set to the highest it could go.
     
  11. putasolution

    putasolution

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,823
    May I ask what media player you are using?
     
  12. lil_tubagirl

    lil_tubagirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Windows media player. There is sound coming from both of the speakers, it's just not nearly as loud as it was on my old PC. Could the sound card in this one just not be as loud as my old one?

    (If that was a really dumb question you can slap me now. :)
     
  13. JRSellers

    JRSellers Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    It's possible.
     
  14. putasolution

    putasolution

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,823
    No wasn't a dumb question...but can you do me a favour? (or should that be favor, we brits will learn to spell one day ;))

    Can you go to start | control panel and see if there is a realtek icon and also check in the Start | programs list if there is a realtek listed?
     
  15. JRSellers

    JRSellers Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Did you try other speakers?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/348693

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice