1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Specific record selected from combobox won't update form

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by terabacktyl, Dec 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. terabacktyl

terabacktyl Thread Starter

Hello!

I am fairly new to Access 2010, but can usually find answers to most of my questions. I have hit a wall here, though:

I have a combo box in a form that finds a specific record within a query. This query then fills in all the text boxes within the form, which can then be printed from an identical report.

There is one specific record that when selected from the combo box seems to bypass all the IF statements in my code. I have 10 or so records that have IF statements such that if the carton number = "blah", then label123 will be visible etc. All of the products update the form correctly except for this one.

However, even if the form does not look as it should, if my "print_record" button is clicked, the report with the same underlying coding shows up correctly. Similarly, if the form is unloaded on this "rebel" record, when reopened it is formatted correctly as well. Unless I choose another record from the combo box, and then choose the "bad" record again.

The only thing I can think of that is different about this record, is that the field entry in the IF statement necessary for this record includes an asterisk, i.e. 123-4567*. Also, the product name for this record includes quotations, i.e. Brand "Identifier" Type. Though this product name is not used anwhere in the VBA code.

Please help!

2. OBP

OBP

terabacktyl, welcome to the Forum.
    It is possible that asterix is causing a problem as Access can treat that as a "Wild Card" character.