1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Speeds Start Strong but Collapse

Discussion in 'Networking' started by puffclinty, Mar 22, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. puffclinty

    puffclinty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    I purchased a new Dell XPS 8700 Desktop a month ago. Upon startup, I installed a new version of Windows to run on an SSD. Everything has gone relatively smooth except for this one issue:

    Typically, I will get 30 mbps up/down when I reboot the computer. Then, suddenly, the speed will drop down to somewhere between 2 - 5 mbps up/down. This doesn't happen to any other device on the network.

    I've attempted to uninstall useless programs, reinstall the network driver, and other tactics to identify if there is a specific piece of software that is causing this slow down, but I haven't been able to figure it out. Once I restart the computer, I'm instantly back at the high speeds until it gets cranked down yet again.

    Thanks

    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 8143 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 720, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 237494 MB, Free - 192763 MB; D: Total - 941237 MB, Free - 392011 MB; E: Total - 1907726 MB, Free - 1218122 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0KWVT8
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled

    Verizon Fios network
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,610
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest network driver from Dell's web site.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista through 10.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8 thru 10: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine after all three commands; no need to boot after the 1st and 2nd.
     
  3. puffclinty

    puffclinty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    So far, so good. I'll keep monitoring it for the next couple of days before I mark as solved.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1145283

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice