Solved: SSD Illiterate - Need some pointers

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Alex Ethridge

I have no experience with SSDs and am considering my first purchase and have been looking at these at NewEgg. I assume the higher the numbers, the better; but are there any caveats or any brands I should avoid. An important consideration would also be a drive imaging program that will image from and restore to SSD. I am currently using Advanced Disk Image 6.0.2 64-bit.

Usage will be in a desktop computer running dual-boot Win7 and Win8, both 64-bit.

Thanks for reading.

crjdriver

As far as a disk image program, I use both acronis TI and clonezilla. Both work well with ssd drives. Clonezilla does have some limitations ie target drive must be the same size or larger, cannot restore a single file, etc however I have NEVER had clonezilla ever fail to restore an image successfully to the same hardware. When you start restoring to dissimilar hardware, go with acronis.

Go with the samsung drives. The egg had the 250gig 850evo drive on sale a few weeks ago for $99. Looks like they raised the price a little. Really the samsung drives are just about idiot proof. You can download and install the samsung data migration software. Shutdown and install your new drive. Pw ON and with about 2 clicks, the data migration software will copy your old drive to your new drive. Shutdown and connect the ssd to the original drive's data cable; pw ON and you are done. You can then use your old drive for storage or whatever. Leave the old drive disconnected until you are sure the clone was successful ie drive letters are correct, etc. Once you are sure, then shutdown and connect the old drive.