1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: standard 3.5"hx5.5"w Postcard printing using WORD

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by sfbayrealty, Nov 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sfbayrealty

sfbayrealty Thread Starter

No longer can I print postcards with a new HP 7510 All in one printer.

I have been printing just fine for 10+ years using other HP printers (6400+g85 etc) and Epson nx420 on Windows Vista (xp etc) using Office 2010 (and 2003 etc)

But now with this HPphotosmart 7510 (this is the ONLY new thing I have added or changed), it's a total mess when printing! HP Support at 800-474-6836 is of no use (I called 10+ times over 5 days, all give different solutions that are dead ends and then most say I have to call Microsoft).

The printer works fine for the first two pages, and then decides (all by itself) on pages 3 and onward to print to the left by 3+ inches! This is just not right! I have tried 20+ variables using Layout+paper/quality settings and even a different driver (HP990c)

Please, some help me start from scratch a brand new Word file with the proper settings. Yes, I will add mailmerge settings LATER. For now, I just want 3 pages to print properly.

I want the printing to start at 2" from the left, 1" from the top, and the right margin can bleed to the last mm of the postcard and the bottom margin (or non printing area) must be at least 0.5".

The printer settings I have used:
    1) the HP 7510 driver: Layout = landscape; paper/quality=MAIN TRAY+LETTER/3.5x5in/etc+plain paper
    2) the HP 990C driver: generic settings (automatic/plain paper)

The DOCX settings I have used:
    1) indent: left=0; right=-1.19"
    2) Page Setup: paper size width = 7" + height = 6" (I've tried 3.5x5.5 but it makes no difference)