1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] start and shut-up problems with windows 98.

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by theo, Jan 17, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. theo

    theo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    The first problem:
    when I am trying to switch on my pc and while all the boot up process
    is in progress, cannot see anything in,my screen till all the boot up
    completted.Then and all over sudden the screen come up ready to,start
    the windows 98.
    The second problem:
    is when I am trying to shut down the computer and choose the shut down
    option from the menu, then,the screen close immediately like mad without
    to show the usual message of the windows 98 : "now you are safe to
    switch of your computer" or even better the other message, that window
    98 ,close the pc by itself.
    I test my screen in another pc and is working perfectly,also I like to
    fix the problem
    without to reinstall windows 98.I am new in computers and I was try to
    be as descriptive as possible.
    I do not know if I managed it.Please help me if you can.

    :confused:
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    With respect to the second problem, I'm not sure it really is a problem. Shutdown processes vary somewhat depending on different motherboard/power managment and ACPI and how they interact with Windows APM. If a system shuts down quickly you may see the message screens briefly or not at all. Be happy you can get it to shut down so efficiently, many can't

    The first problem is a little more enigmatic. Has it always been that way, or did it happen after a configuration change, such as installing a new video card?

    How old is the monitor? I had one going so dark I could not see any of the DOS screens. And only when Windows loaded and the Video card settings kicked in did I get a decent display
     
  3. theo

    theo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Thank you ROLLIN' ROG for the time you spend to
    reply me.But the monitor is not old,and I tested
    it in different pc and it's working.
    Also i do not do any configuration yet because
    I am very very new in computers and I know only a few things.That's why I do not
    know even what ACPI OR APM are.I admire all of you in TSG, the knowledge
    you got, for me is unbelievable!!
    Thank you very much once more time, ROLLIN' ROG
    and I hope someone gives me an idea about it.
     
  4. deanas

    deanas

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Does this happen only when you cold boot the
    computer.
    Try a warm boot which means once windows has
    finished loading go to:
    start > shutdown > restart
    Do you get any text on screen?
     
  5. theo

    theo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    still nothing,DEANAS.
    Thank you, any way
    for your advise!:confused:
     
  6. deanas

    deanas

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Do you have another monitor you can hookup
    and see if that does the same thing?
     
  7. theo

    theo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Yes,DEANAS! still the same problem,must be
    something else,thank you.
     
  8. deanas

    deanas

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Have tried going into the bios setup program?
     
  9. ETS

    ETS

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    972
    In addition to checking your settings in CMOS setup as deanas is leading up to, you should try moving your video card to a different slot. You may need to find a friend or someone who is familiar with the internals of a computer to help you out.
    If that doesn't help then you should try another video card (borrowed).
     
  10. theo

    theo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    DEANAS, If I go to BIOS I do not know what I had
    to do what to change.Can you tell me how, if it is possible for you.
    Before,that I will try what ETS advised me, I want to try by myself because I want to learn something.
    So DEANAS and ETS wish me luck.
    thank you both of you that you try to help a beginner.
     
  11. ETS

    ETS

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    972
    Good luck, and be sure to ground yourself before touching anything inside the computer. Also make sure power is completely off before moving any adapter cards around.
    I'll be standing by if you have any questions.
     
  12. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Theo, in the bios you might look for something like enable ram count......

    A quick question though, what happens if you hit F 8 when the computer is starting? Do you see the menu? or just a blank screen?
     
  13. theo

    theo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Thank you VERY VERY VERY MUCH, ETS!!
    I had to stop now becuase I had to do something else, I will try tomorrow.I will tell you then!!
    once more time
    Thank you so much!!!!!
     
  14. theo

    theo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    I was try to put the card in a different slot the same problem.
    Also,I did AcaCandy's suggestion with the F8 key but still the same problem!
    Thank you.
     
  15. ETS

    ETS

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    972
    I think it's time to borrow a video card from a friend and try that, or put your video in another computer and see if it does the same thing.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65245

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice