1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: start menu text is GIGANTIC . . .

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Battlesoaked, Apr 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Battlesoaked

    Battlesoaked Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    231
    . . . and I can't get to "search" or "run." I changed the icon size to "small" in the properties>start menu>customize, but that isn't helping at all. In my other accounts the start menu text is fine.

    I'm running Win XP.

    How do I make it normal size?

    Thanks, Scott.
     
  2. IsolatedSnail

    IsolatedSnail

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    This may be a weird question to ask, but have you checked the desktop resolution? Maybe your other accounts are runnnig in 1024x768 and this one is 640x480 or 600x800?
     
  3. Battlesoaked

    Battlesoaked Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    231
    Thanks Mister Snail:

    1024X600, across all accounts. It's a Compaq Mini 110c netbook.
     
  4. IsolatedSnail

    IsolatedSnail

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Hmm, that was my easy solution. Heh, let me play with mine and see if I can blow up my start menu then I'll tell you. Maybe someone else can answer before that.
     
  5. Battlesoaked

    Battlesoaked Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    231
    Thanks you very much.

    I'm baffled by it. I've gone into the appearance settings, and I can't find anything that changes that text.
     
  6. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    The Start Menu text uses the same settings that Icons use, and the text used in My Computer/Windows Explorer. Is the text large for those items as well?
    If so, right click the Desktop, click Properties
    Click the Appearance tab
    Click the Advanced button
    Select Icon in the Item: list, and check the font and size settings.
    That's where that text should be controlled from

    You can also try going to the Themes tab, and selecting a different theme. The current one may be corrupted.
     
  7. Battlesoaked

    Battlesoaked Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    231
    Bingo! Thank you both very much.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved start menu
  1. zalan
    Replies:
    23
    Views:
    1,139
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/920005

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice