1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Start-up error.... Failed to start the X server (Linux Mint 14 Cinnamon)

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by wakki, Jan 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wakki

wakki Thread Starter

I am new to all this, but I've managed to install Linux Mint 14 (Cinnamon) on my netbook and when I choose Linux Mint in the OS options screen at start -up, I get this message:
    "Failed to start the X server (your graphical interface). It is likely that it is not set up correctly. Would you like to view the X server output to diagnose the problem?"
    When I choose Yes, I get a string of info then
    "Fatal Server Error: no screens found.
    Server terminated with error (1). Closing log file."
    The next window would show me more info, then I get
    "The X server is now disabled. Restart MDM when it is configured correctly."

Could anyone help me out with this?

2. saikee

saikee

This is a standard case of Linux Mint fails to match your graphic card. Happens all the time as Linux does not ask for the video driver and the installer could have picked a wrong one.

You can get into the terminal mode by ctrl+alt+F1

You can become a root user in a terminal by command
    Code:
    sudo -i
    and stop the xserver by command
    Code:
    service kdm stop
    you can then generate your own xserver configuration file by command
    Code:
    Xorg:1 -configure
    since you are in root this file is stored in /root and call xorg.conf.new which you have to put it in the /etc/X11 directory by copying it over with the command
    Code:
    cp /root/xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Then you can restart xserver by
    Code:
    service kdm start