1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Start Up Error

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Cookie_female, May 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cookie_female

    Cookie_female Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    On 19th May Windows advised I had to update the AMD driver, so I did. Since then windows 7 won't load.I went to precious restore point on safe mode, but no change. I receive an error during system restore "0 x 800700b7". Despite several attempts at restoring to a previous point and being advised that the restore is successful, nothing happens.

    I tried "Last known good configuration. No joy.

    Next, I went to Device Manager and rolled back the driver. No joy.

    Then I copied across the System Image Recovery from and external drive into C:\. But it can't be found.

    So now I am out of ideas. This is what lists in the Start Up Repair signature:

    6.1.760016385
    6.1.760016385
    unknown
    110
    Auto failure
    1
    No root cause
    OS version 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.11


    Looking forward to the solution.

    Thanks,

    Cookie
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,224
    First Name:
    Cody
    What do you mean by Windows 7 won't load? Do you get to a login screen? Do you experience a loop? etc.
     
  4. Cookie_female

    Cookie_female Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    When I start up the laptop I get the login screen, I swipe my finger and then get "Windows Error Recovery", windows failed to start, then Startup Repair kicks in. After some time I am advised that Startup Repair can't repair automatically, I click "send info",I then look at the diagnosis and repair details.

    The last successful boot was yesterday morning. Then there is a list of tests performed and given that I am using my mobile to update I won't list every test result. The log advises all tests passed, eg system disk, target OS, volume content, boot manager, etc all passed. The only fail was System Restore, error code = 0 x 1f and System files integrity check and repair, Error code = 0x490. Root cause found: Unspecified changes to system configuration might have caused the problem.

    Could this be the start of hard disk failure? Or registry corruption? Maybe I need to reinstall?
     
  5. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,224
    First Name:
    Cody
    Either one is technically possible, but I really can't say without further troubleshooting.

    Again, it's possible, but I don't think we're there quite yet. Clean installs of the operating system are usually a last resort, assuming you have data you want to keep, and updates and software you don't want to have to re-install. If not, then feel free to perform a clean install.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Try booting into the Windows Recovery Environment again and choose Command Prompt.

    SFC /Scannow

    In the Command Prompt, type SFC /SCANNOW and hit Enter.

    Let me know the results of this process in your next post.
     
  6. Cookie_female

    Cookie_female Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    After running system scan I receive the following "Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations".
     
  7. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,224
    First Name:
    Cody
    That's good news, but the bad news is it didn't fix your problem.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Next, let's try this:

    Disable Device in Device Manager
    • Press and hold the Windows button + R on your keyboard.
    • In the Run box type DEVMGMT.MSC and hit Enter.
    • Click the + next to Display Adapters so it expands, showing all installed hardware.
    • Right-click the AMD video card installed in your system and click Disable.
    • Reboot your machine.
     
  8. Cookie_female

    Cookie_female Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Terrific! It worked! Thanks! I was beginning to think there may have been shadow restore points causing me grief. Should have thought to disable AMD! Always learn something new. Really appreciate your help.
     
  9. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,224
    First Name:
    Cody
    Mark Thread Solved

    You're welcome - I'm glad to hear that worked! :)

    If you have no more questions, please mark your thread as solved! (y)

    You can mark your thread as solved using the [​IMG] button at the top and bottom of the page.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1126436