[Solved] Startup files deleted

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dumbanddumber

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
7
I accidentally deleted all the startup files. When I was trying to startup the comp, it gave me the alert "invalid system disk". I tried to reboot the system with a startup diskette and the windows 98 CDrom. I transferred the system from drive A to C by using the command A:\sys C:. The computer boots up to windows 98, which appears for a split second and then I only get a c prompt. I tried to start it in safe modus, same result. What's the next step? The deleted files are not completely gone, they are still on the windows surface in the recycle bin.
Thank you for your help,
dummie
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2001
Messages
3,178
Hi,

If this is the case, then why don't you just type in:

copy c:\recycled

This should copy all of the files in the recycle bin, back onto your C: drive.
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
That will not work, since the files in c:\Recycled, at the DOS level, do not reflect the Windows file names. They will all have a DC prefix.
If you know the file size of each deleted file, you can do a rename and then copy it back to the correct directory.

When you say "deleted all the startup files", exactly what do you mean? What files?
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2001
Messages
3,178
Sorry 'bout that,

I didn't think of the name change. However, the file extensions won't have changed, so that should help in figuring out which is which as well.
Can you type in c:\windows\win ?
Do you receive an error message?
 

dumbanddumber

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
7
Thank you guys. I'm not exactly sure what files got deleted. The ones I copied all had that DC prefix and then o.doc, 13.lnk, 15.log, 18., 21.log, 22.log, 24.txt, 29.log. That's by far not all that got deleted though.
I also tried the command you suggested, Columbo, the error message says HINEM.sys is missing (make sure that the file is in your windows directory...).
Thanks for your quick answers!
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
I'd suggest checking the msdos.sys file to be sure it's in good shape before going any further. Using the sys c: command can nuke the msdos.sys file if your not careful. You'll end up with the one from the boot diskette loaded to the drive and it's basically empty.

At a prompt type in the following and take a look at the msdos.sys file

edit c:\msdos.sys

If all it contains is one line that reads something like ;W98EBD ... then copy msdos.sys from another W98 PC to a diskette.

Then copy it to the root of c:\ on the bad PC, remove the diskette and restart the PC.

copy a:\msdos.sys c:\

If the msdos.sys file is ok, then follow <a href=http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q296/6/36.ASP?LN=EN-US&SD=gn&FR=0&qry=himem.sys&rnk=10&src=DHCS_MSPSS_gn_SRCH&SPR=W98> this</a> article and load a new copy of himem.sys
 

dumbanddumber

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
7
Thank you, Bryan. I guess that went way over my head... I am certainly not sure whether the system disk is ok or not. The article was a bit too technical, I'm afraid. So, do I have to give in and bring the computer to a shop?
Thank you anyway for all your help.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
You can also copy himem.sys from a floppy to c:\windows. You can use the copy that is present on a boot disk or you can copy one to a floppy from another Win98 computer. Then from the a:\> prompt enter:

copy himem.sys c:\windows
 

dumbanddumber

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
7
Thanks guys. As I copied the himem.sys from the floppy on the harddisk, it was already on there. I replaced the existing file anyway to make sure it's a good one. The computer still gives me the same error message that the himem.sys file is missing when I try to start it with windows\win. Could there be another reason? Thanks for your help!
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Himem.sys has to load before the execution of the win command. Even in a "normal" system, if you were to boot to a "safe mode command prompt" and try to start by entering "win", you would get that error.

Try a "Normal" or "Safe Mode" (not "safe mode command prompt") start from a Boot Menu. (press ctrl key starting up to access the boot menu).

You should also verify the presence of a valid msdos.sys file by entering the following commands from a c:\> prompt:

attrib -h msdos.sys

edit msdos.sys


the file should open in the DOS editor and contain at least the following lines at the top:

[Paths]
WinDir=c:\windows
WinBootDir=c:\windows
HostWinBootDrv=c

Press alt+F, X to exit the DOS editor.

crtl-alt-del will reboot you.

I would also try booting with a Win98 startup disk and at the a:\> prompt, enter:

sys c:

(you should get a message "system files transfered")

then remove the boot disk and reboot.
 

dumbanddumber

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
7
Thanks again. I already transferred the systemfiles from the floppy. I guess I'm in bigger trouble than I thought: the msdos.sys doesn't really contain any paths at all. How can that happen? It just says "sys"...
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Ok, that's a good discovery, Windows will not boot that way. As Bryan mentioned, it sometimes happens as a result of a sys c: command; I'll spare you the technical details, but it has to do with how Windows determines whether there is a valid file present or not.

Using the DOS editor, you can add the lines I posted, all of them.

Only this time, you must remove the read only attribute of msdos.sys first. So from the c:\> prompt enter:

attrib -h -r -s msdos.sys
edit msdos.sys


Now remove what is there (;sys) and add those lines.

Press alt+F to access the file save and exit menu. Save and exit.

Then try another ctrl-alt-del to reboot.

http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q149/1/10.ASP
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top