1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Stay With Kaspersky???

Discussion in 'General Security' started by lschul, Dec 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lschul

lschul Thread Starter

I have been using Kaspersky for a few years and it works well, never had a problem. My renewal is up again and I am wondering if I should stay with it and pay or if there is a free anti-virus out there that is bullet proof and provides all the protection I need without charging me. Also want something that won't eat up system resources. Opinions?:)

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    yes, there are free antivirus which is recommended here often
    what windows version do you have - you may not need a firewall

--------------------------------------------------------------
    i'm not an expert here - but if you look through the security forum, you will see a lot of recommendations for windows 7/vista

The windows 7/vista firewall is considered adequate and especially if you are connected behind a router.
    Have a read in our "general security" forum and look for the advice from our security gurus.

Several excellent free antivirus programs are available (But you should only ever have 1 on the PC at a time otherwise this can cause issues ).

Microsoft Security Essentials (MSE) I personally use and install in the computers that I work on.
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/security_essentials/default.aspx
    If you are using windows 8 - you already have this product and its now called windows defender (different to the earlier windows versions, also known as "windows defender")

Avast
    http://www.avast.com/free-antivirus-download

AntiVir
    http://majorgeeks.com/Avira_AntiVir_Personal_-_FREE_Antivirus_d955.html