1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Stock quotes in Excel

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Groggy, Nov 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Groggy

    Groggy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    I have been using the MSN Stock Quote add-in to Excel 2002 for years. Suddenly, it has stopped working. Each cell where I ask for stock info (not real time, but end-of-day) shows an error. A typical instruction in the cell is =MSNStockQuote($C5,"Company Name") where the company's symbol (in this case) is in cell C5. Other items I used to be able to download included, Last Price, Change, etc. NONE works now.

    The site at MSN Money seems to indicate the format of the instruction has not changed.

    Any ideas???

    Thanks
     
  2. OBP

    OBP It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,895
    Have you installed any Microsoft Updates lately, if one of those coincides with when it stopped working try rolling back your Computer with a System Restore to see if that fixes it.
    You could try using the Add-in Manager to delete and re-add your MSN Stock Quote in case it has been sommehow corrupted. You could even try re-installing/repairing Excel if you have the Disks.
     
  3. Groggy

    Groggy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Thanks for your reply. Neither a system restore nor an un-installing and re-installing the MSNStockQuote add-in for Excel worked.

    I'm glad you suggested those paths, though, I probably wouldn't have thought to do them.

    VOBP
     
  4. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    Hi there,

    Have you tried disabling all other add-ins and internet security programs? Did this occur when you installed any other applications? Do you use Google Desktop? (Known to have issues with Excel.) How many symbols are you using? Have you tried the add-in on another computer?

    I would suggest reading these as well...
    http://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/thread-3642504.php
    http://forums.techguy.org/business-applications/756426-solved-vista-problem-downloading-share.html
    http://fransking.blogspot.com/2006/06/getting-stock-prices-into-excel.html
    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/excel/HA010346101033.aspx
    http://www.excelforum.com/excel-programming/614266-msn-stock-quote-add-in.html
     
  5. Groggy

    Groggy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Thanks for your response. It seems that many people have started having trouble with this function, after using it for years. I strongly suspect that MoneyCentral or Microsoft has changed something and isn't about to inform the users.

    I found another Excel Template on the net that works. It seems I can add VB code to it to get it to duplicate what I had before. It's just a bunch of new code that I have to write, but there doesn't seem to be any alternative.

    I've tried system restoring to a previous date, un-installing and re-installing, nothing works. I don't have another computer I can check this out on, so...back to the coding table.

    Thanks all.
     
  6. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    I, and others, have had great luck with the SMF add-in. The yahoo groups for that is absolutely excellent, by far the best stock function [add-in] I've ever seen.
     
  7. Groggy

    Groggy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    I'm sorry Zack, I must have missed something. What is the 'SMF' add-in? If it's easier to handle than the one I located I'd probably use it.
     
  8. Groggy

    Groggy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    I did find the info on the 'SMF add-ins", and I installed it. It is working fine. It, indeed, is a much cleaner interface than the one I was using, and will continue to use it.

    Thanks for the tip.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/766383

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice