1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Strange icon - cant view certain videos

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by pointlessforest, May 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pointlessforest

pointlessforest Thread Starter

Hi, please be patient with me as I am a newbie. Thanks in advance for any help you may offer.
    Lately I have not been able to view (only) certain videos that I have previously been able to see. If I go directly to YouTube I can view them.
    Ironically, when I went to your site at http://www.techguy.org/welcome.html (I am assuming this is a video but dont know)
    I am seeing this exact icon in a big white box (right below where it says "Welcome to Tech Support Guy". The icon is in the upper left hand side. It has red in the upper left, yellow in the lower right and lower center is green, amongst some blues etc. I duplicated it in my paint program, but it exceeds the maximum I am allowed to attach here. It is not the Google icon.
    I do not know what settings I could have changed but I was able to view videos on one particular site about 6 weeks ago.....it would just go automatically into the Youtube black screen....but now is just white with the icon.
    I'm thinking that if I could id the icon, I could id the problem??..
    I have Windows XP, MalwareBytes, and Security essentials and am using IE8.
    Many thanks

2. oksteve

oksteve

3. pointlessforest

Thank you okSteve, I appreciate your reply I did try that and (yes) I do see the graphics. I forgot to mention that I have Adobe Flashplayer 10.
    The odd thing is, that I can access the (same) video if I go directly to YouTube, but not when I access it through certain websites.