Solved: Strange "This content cannot be displayed in a frame" window at bootup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Android

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
321
I get a window at bootup that I can't seem to get rid of or know what it's about. In the window is the text...
"This content cannot be displayed in a frame
To help protect the security of information you enter into this website, the publisher of this content does not allow it to be displayed in a frame.
What you can try:
Open this content in a new window "

the last line is linked and goes to...
javascript:makeNewWindow();

I don't want to click it as I don't know where it goes to. This window is just there, at bootup, without any other programs running. Anyone know what the heck is going on?
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Seems like an application on your computer is calling that website.


1- Please click HERE to download HijackThis.
2- Run the program.
3- Click on the Main Menu button if not already there.
4- Select Do a system scan and save a logfile.
5- Copy and paste the scan log from Notepad into your next reply.
6- Do not "Fix" anything unless advised to do so.
 

Android

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
321
Well I was able to centralize the strange window on my desktop and close it (it was "pinned to the upper left corner of my desktop). After reboot, it hasn't appeared again. Although it seems to have done the trick, here is a copy/paste of the HJT log (HJT took a long time to scan it seems)...


Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.4
Scan saved at ...
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
If the issue is resolved, please click on
.

Feel free to post again if the problem returns.
 

Android

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
321
I guess you didn't see anything wrong in the HJT log then. Thanks.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Your O24 entry is an Active Desktop Component. They are local or remote html files that are embedded directly onto your desktop as a background. Infections use this method to embed messages, pictures, or web pages directly on to a user's desktop.

Your error message could very well come from that Facebook page. If you ever get it again, try removing that desktop background.


Run HijackThis again.

Select Do a system scan only.

Put a check mark on:

O4 - HKLM\..\RunOnce: [AvgUninstallURL] cmd.exe /c start http://www.avg.com/ww.special-uninstallation-feedback-appf?lic=NFVWSzItQUxZTUYtU0xLTFUtQVoyVUItNkdPS0ItSkhGTkg"&"inst=NzctNTg2MTg zODYwLVQ0LUJBKzEtS1YzKzctWEwrMS1GUDkrNi1CQVI5RysxLVRCOSsyLUZMKzktRjEwTSs1LV FJWDErNC1YMjAxMCsyLUYxME0xMEQrMS1MSUMrNzctU1AxKzEtU1VEKzEtUzFJKzEtU1UzKzEtR kwxMCsxLVRVRyszLUREVCsw"&"prod=90"&"ver=10.0.1390

Click Fix checked.

If you wish, you can also Fix the following entry:

O24 - Desktop Component 1: (no name) - http://www.facebook.com/kaznof


Other than that, there's nothing to be concerned about in that log.
 

Android

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
321
Thanks. I don't have AVG any more. In a prior TSG session, they recommended removing it and installing MS Security Essentials instead. I removed both the O4 and O24 entry. Thanks again.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top