Solved: stumped....

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

masconomo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
219
Ok ...here it is

1. Can't find server is the page with the IE browser -- cannot open page
2. CBUT - my Comcast cable connection works with my "left" computer thru router (and direct) -- but not on my "right" computer

1. the network connections LAN says its connected
2. I've tried the following but nothing has worked

- turned off firewalls
- direct to modem (no router)
- updated realtek lan driver
- ran all spyware, malware etc
- flushed dns cache
- bought an ethernet adapter to go through usb connection (thinking the ethernet card might be gone).

Nothing has helped. I'd be grateful for any suggestions. Thanks!
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP-Home (or XP-Pro), SP1-SP2, Vista, etc.
The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



  • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
  • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
  • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
  • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

Type the following commands:

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com

NBTSTAT -n

IPCONFIG /ALL


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

masconomo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
219
Hi John,

Here's what I've come up with --

Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider
Comcast
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
Arris TM402P/110
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
Linksys srx200
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
wired/cable
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP-Home (or XP-Pro), SP1-SP2, Vista, etc.
XP Home
The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.
IE




Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.

Cannot bring up a webpage on my IE browser. After a long wait the headline is "Cannot find server" and the page says "The page cannot be displayed"


Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
I've gone directly through the modem with the same problem.

If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?
Have a separate computer that's fine either thru the router or direct to the modem.

Here's my command/run info:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection 3:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.102] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
PAVILION753 <00> UNIQUE Registered
MSHOME <00> GROUP Registered
PAVILION753 <20> UNIQUE Registered
MSHOME <1E> GROUP Registered

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Pavilion753
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-10-DC-78-FA-FA
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.71.226
68.87.73.242
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, September 18, 2008 10:43:2
6 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, September 19, 2008 10:43:26
PM

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>


Thanks for your help!
 

masconomo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
219
Here is the PING results --

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 206.190.60.37

Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping yahoo.com

Pinging yahoo.com [206.190.60.37] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>nbtstat -n
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Well, you have name resolution, so I'm guessing an errant firewall setting here. Your computer was able to resolve yahoo.com, but it's unable to actually talk to it.

If you're tried disabling the firewalls, I'd physically uninstall any 3rd party firewalls to see if that helps.
 

masconomo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
219
yes I've taken down my firewalls. perhaps the key fact is the error that comes up in the lower right hand corner for a spilt second just as the browser tries to come up -- res://c:\windows\system32\shdoclc.dll/dnserror.htm I've been trying an awful lot of supposed fixes. Thanks for any help you can provide.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Let's try doing a stack reset first.


TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.




Next, let's Reset Internet Explorer 7 Settings to Defaults.


Let us know how you make out.
 

masconomo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
219
just tried to do the net int ip reset.log and it said "command not found: int ip reset.log". The winsock catalog was successful. I'm going to reboot now.
 

masconomo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
219
Hi John,

I'm connected with IE!!! (without redoing the reset log.) ------------ But that is just one of two computers that are having this problem through the same router (or also if I go direct to the modem). I did both of the resets commands on comp #2 to no avail (shucks). I guess I should do the IE6 reset to default?
 

masconomo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
219
Hi -- I did the IE6 reset (on comp 2) and though I still can't connect there's a slight change -- I don't get the shdoclc dnserror showing in the lower left hand corner and the when I type in a url, the url stays in the address box while the "cannot find server" and "the page cannot be displayed" page comes after (after trying for a 15 seconds).
 

masconomo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
219
Did a network connections "repair" and it didn't finish because it couldn't clear the DNS cache. I did an ipconfig /flushdns and that "function failed".
 

masconomo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
219
John -- here are the ipconfig/pings for computer 2 --

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 206.190.60.37

Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping yahoo.com

Pinging yahoo.com [206.190.60.37] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.101] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
PAVILION753 <00> UNIQUE Registered
MSHOME <00> GROUP Registered
MSHOME <1E> GROUP Registered

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Pavilion753
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-10-DC-78-FA-FA
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.71.226
68.87.73.242
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, September 28, 2008 6:37:28 P
M
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, September 29, 2008 6:37:28 P
M
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top