Solved: Stupid questions get stupid answers right?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

CrazyAdie

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2007
Messages
11
Im not a computer genius by any means but I have a question.



Am I able to take a hard-drive that I have in my Alienware and just stick it into my new computer?

I dont want to format the drive but that feels like it would just be too easy.

Thanks for reading.




-Adie
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
417
It depends....
When you stick it in the new computer will it be just for storage, or it will be the main hard drive (where windows is installed)?
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
279
Do you need to save anything on the drive, or planning to xfer any data over to your new system? Or did you intend to strait up run your old system files off your new PC?
 

CrazyAdie

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2007
Messages
11
damn, alright thanks everyone.


Appreciate the info Brite, like I said im not great with computers but im always asking to learn.




-Adie
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
CrazyAdie said:
damn, alright thanks everyone.


Appreciate the info Brite, like I said im not great with computers but im always asking to learn.




-Adie
yep, no problem, its a common question
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2007
Messages
108
This is not a stupid question. It's a very good one, actually. This may or may not be a "quick and easy" procedure, though.

To answer your question, it is possible for you to take your hard drive and place it into your new computer provided your new computer has proper connections for your hard drive (i.e., if your old hard drive is IDE, your new computer must have an IDE connection, or, if your old hard drive is SATA, your new computer must have a SATA connection).

Another thing to consider is that unless both computers have the exact same hardware setup, meaning the exact same video, sound, ethernet/network, modem (if applicable) chipset and other components, then you will have to install drivers onto the hard drive for the new system. *MOST* of the time, just moving a hard drive over to another computer will be as easy as "boot and install drivers", but sometimes it won't be. One of those cases when it won't be easy is if you're moving a hard drive from an AMD-based computer to an Intel-based computer (and visa-versa). When it comes to that type of move, you'd probably have to take it into a reputable computer shop to make that kind of migration because there's a couple of things involved that the average person can't do themselves that requires special tools (not hand tools, but software tools). Most computer shops are equipped with such tools.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
there are ways of preparing your current XP install, removing drivers, etc. then trying to do a repair install of XP to install new drivers but its not for a newbie and from what I've heard it often times leads to a glitchy install of XP so not really worth it since a format and fresh install is so easy. your problem I'm assuming is backing up your current stuff.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2007
Messages
108
brite750 said:
there are ways of preparing your current XP install, removing drivers, etc. then trying to do a repair install of XP to install new drivers but its not for a newbie and from what I've heard it often times leads to a glitchy install of XP so not really worth it since a format and fresh install is so easy. your problem I'm assuming is backing up your current stuff.
If the user doesn't mind reinstalling all programs (provided they have the programs), migrating data, and possibly recreating and redoing other things inherent to a fresh install (which for some people seems to be more work than they want to put into it), then I agree, a fresh install is always best. However, I have done this very thing on more than one occasion (too many to count), both for myself and for customers, and have had only one go bad and that was due to a severely corrupted registry. But then again, I make a living at this, so I'm far from "newbie" status.

Now, my response was not so much to give the person a green light to go ahead and do this because, if done improperly, it can lead to more headaches than a simple wipe and reload. I only answered the question that was asked because it is possible to swap out a hard drive and go, but there are inherent risks involved, which I also pointed out. I was only giving an informative answer. Saying, "no, that won't work", is false. It will work. I've seen it work. I've made it work. It may not be the best method, but it's certainly a method that will work.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
yeah i think of a reinstall as being easy, my stuff is backed up, i have all my program disks, etc. so if you dont have all that stuff handy a fresh install gets a little tougher. It's certainly something a newbie should learn how to do for him/herself, might save you a lot of trouble some day.
 

CrazyAdie

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2007
Messages
11
I really got the point on this one guys ;)


Thanks everyone for the help, now go read my other posts ;p

Thanks again



-Adie
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top