1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Stuttering sound

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ari, Jul 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ari

    Ari Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 1999
    Messages:
    270
    MSI KM2M mainboard with on chip Realtek AC97 sound. Running Win98SE.

    The sound "stutters" or echos, mainly within games but at other times also. I have all the latest drivers, DX9, etc.
    I have another identical system that does NOT have this problem. A comparison between the two gives all the same info, drivers details, IRQ's, DMA, etc... I mean EVERYTHING shows exactly the same and yet this system stutters and the other one doesn't. HELP ! ! !
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Same running processes at startup?
     
  3. Ari

    Ari Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 1999
    Messages:
    270
    Pretty much. The one with the problem has the Lexmark printer stuff in startup that the other doesn't have. The one without the problem has the stuff for Kazaa, AOL messenger, and MS messenger that the other doesn't.

    Both systems were upgraded recently and except for drivers and software related to the new hardware are running all the same stuff as before the upgrade. Had no problems before and now...
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Can you post the startups for the problem machine?
     
  5. Ari

    Ari Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 1999
    Messages:
    270
    Oh boy, you ask a lot. Just joking.

    Scan Registry
    System Tray
    LexStart *
    LexmarkPrinTray *
    CriticalUpdate *
    SoundMan
    LoadPowerProfile
    E-color
    WinZip Quick Pick *
    MS Office Shortcut Bar *

    Items with * are not loaded on the other machine.
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Just for fun, can you stop them from starting up for a test?

    Also, I see no virus program starting up? Have you checked for viruses, I'm sure they could play havoc on the system too........
     
  7. Ari

    Ari Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 1999
    Messages:
    270
    Just got the system put together a few days ago. Haven't reloaded virus software yet. I did hook the HDD in my system and scan it while i had the system apart, I have (well had) Norton anti-virus corporate on mine and it didn't find anything.

    Going to try not starting them up and see what happens. Will post again with results.
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    The ones with the asterisks ;)
     
  9. Ari

    Ari Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 1999
    Messages:
    270
    Got nothing except Systray and Scanreg loading and still does it.
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Interesting. Is autoexec.bat and config.sys loading anything?
     
  11. Ari

    Ari Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 1999
    Messages:
    270
    Nah, both of em are empty on both machines. I'm beginning to wonder if somethings up with the actual sond chip on the mainboard.
     
  12. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Yep, that was my next thought as well. Not sure if this test would work, since you said you already moved hard drives, but I'm wondering if the other hard drive in this machine would do the same thing? Long shot, but it's the only last thing I can figure.
     
  13. Ari

    Ari Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 1999
    Messages:
    270
    Worth a try. I'll let ya know
     
  14. Ari

    Ari Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 1999
    Messages:
    270
    Yep, same thing with HDD swapped. Gonna check a few jumpers and stuff, make sure I didn't mess something up puttin this one together.
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Okey dokey :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - [SOLVED] Stuttering sound
  1. rtowers98
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    87
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/144403

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice