Solved: Suddenly not turning on

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

adrianr2z

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
316
Hey Guys,

So my computer was working yesterday. It is custom built and today, when I tried to turn it on,all the fans and everything come on, but the mini speaker inside the computer makes 1 long beep followed by 8 short beeps and there is no image displayed on my monitor! I'm not sure why this suddenly happened. It was working fine yesterday. I reseated the video card and ram but nothing! Any help ?

Computer specs are beside my name.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,445
The first step in troubleshooting a no boot condition is to swap in a known good pw supply for testing. You do not have to fully install the test unit; simply connect the atx, aux, and video pw. Now pw ON and see if the board will complete post. If it does, then shutdown and install a new pw supply.

Note known good does not mean new; it means a unit pulled from a working system that you know works. A new pw supply can be DOA just like any other part and that will really mess up your troubleshooting.
 

adrianr2z

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
316
The power supply i've been using has worked for the past 2 years. Its a corsair 650W psu.
Also, I don't have any other PSU that i have laying around.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,445
The power supply i've been using has worked for the past 2 years. Its a corsair 650W psu.
Corsair is a fine unit [as long as it is not the builder series] however just because it worked in the past does NOT mean it works now. If you want to fix the problem you test in a systematic manner and swapping in a known good pw supply is the first step.
 

adrianr2z

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
316
Corsair is a fine unit [as long as it is not the builder series] however just because it worked in the past does NOT mean it works now. If you want to fix the problem you test in a systematic manner and swapping in a known good pw supply is the first step.
I dont have a good PSU laying around :/
Lets say I install another psu and the same thing happens. Then what...?
 

adrianr2z

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 28, 2011
Messages
316
Took out my video card and cleaned it with air, reseated it, and worked. Cleaned the whole computer inside to get rid of the dust and its working fine. Not sure what was causing the problem but its working now.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top