Solved: Supersonic 605

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wolfworx

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
1,227
I have successfully connected a Supersonic 605 to my Proscan TV/DVD unit. Reception is great for. 20 channels including ABC,CBS,NBC, Fox, PBS and others.

Unfortunately, I cannot get any reception on my older JVC AV27BP6 TV. (n) Should the Supersonic Antenna work with this TV or is it not compatible with the new signals. It had been working with cable service.

BTW the Supersonic came with limited instructions - a single sheet hook-up diagram. I have searched the internet for a manual with no luck. I was just taken around in circles. Does anyone know if a more detailed manual is available? I am curious about external antenna connection and the use of the 12 volt input jack.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
69,752
older JVC AV27BP6 TV. (n) Should the Supersonic Antenna work with this TV or is it not compatible with the new signals. It had been working with cable service.
.

From what I could find using Google, the JVC AV27BP6 only has an analog NTSC tuner section. It will not work with digital ATSC signals that are transmitted exclusively in the USA since 2009. Your cable service may still offer analog TV signals for some of its channels or the cable box may convert all channels to an analog output.
 

wolfworx

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
1,227
Thank you. I thought that might me the case.
Hmmm... I wonder if I could get a signal through a relatively new VCR player i.e connecting the Supersonic to the VCR and the output of the VCR to the video input of the TV?
 

mtzlplex

Account Closed
Joined
Aug 5, 2002
Messages
1,650
I`ve never seen a vcr with the capabilities to convert digital to analog(not saying they don`t exist, I`ve just never seen one). I get my tv signal same as you, over the air, and have been for 5 years. All 3 of my tvs are analog, and all have a digital to analog converter, and all are hooked up to vcrs. To make the older analog tv work, you need a dig to analog converter. I have decided that when the time comes for me to do an update of my converters, I will more than likely choose this converter, as it also has the ability to record shows via usb, using a usb flash drive/stick, thus eliminating the vcr http://www.walmart.com/ip/28505040?...0391672&wl4=&wl5=pla&wl6=60244484011&veh=sem#
 

wolfworx

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
1,227
Indeed. The VCR will not do the job of conversion. How can you use it to record? The Proscan displays the selected channel, but has no LRV output for the VCR.
 

mtzlplex

Account Closed
Joined
Aug 5, 2002
Messages
1,650
Sorry, I can be of no assistance with the dig tv, as I don`t even own one, all of my stuff is analog. Hang in there, may be someone with the answer you need will chime in. Good luck.
 

TonyB25

Banned
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
2,540
Indeed. The VCR will not do the job of conversion. How can you use it to record? The Proscan displays the selected channel, but has no LRV output for the VCR.
The answer is you can't. An analog VCR cannot record digital signals. If you want to record digital TV, then you need a DVR (Digital Video Recorder).
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top