1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Suspicious folder in Control Panel

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Symbolics, Nov 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Symbolics

    Symbolics Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    There is this folder in my Control Panel, it has no name, nothing whatsoever. The only actions it can do is Open and Create Shortcut, nothing else. It sits as the first icon, before Accessibility Options.

    I was afraid to open this folder, for it may be a malware or something. But anti-virus and anti-spyware scans came up clean.

    Can anyone help me with this? I always feel uneasy when I see this.

    Thanks for all the help.

    Regards.

    Edit:
    Gotta go sleep now, as its already late here in Kuala Lumpur. I'll be back tomorrow.
     
  2. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791


    That's all any of them can do although it should have a name. You were right to suspect malware but having scanned and found nothing, you may as well open it to see what it contains.
     
  3. Symbolics

    Symbolics Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    I opened the folder, and it asked me to browse through programs of which I should use to open it. In short, an "Open With" window appeared. I don't know, but can a folder be opened by a program? I don't think so.
     
  4. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    I don't like the sound of this beast at all and although you've already used all your scanners, I think you should go to http://www.trendmicro.com and download HijackThis. Install it as directed and then click to Scan and Save a Log. Copy and Paste that via Notepad or Wordpad and post it back here, where someone in the know can advise if you still have some malware. You might care to go into Safe Mode first to see if teh Administrator account can remove this icon.
     
  5. Symbolics

    Symbolics Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    I'll try it out one by one, see if it works...
     
  6. Symbolics

    Symbolics Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Umm... I am freaked out...
    This folder is gone when I log onto Safe Mode...
    I mean, this happened for no apparent reason, and now its gone.
    Well, thanks a lot Saga, for spending some time to help me solve this freakish matter.

    *I guess there's no need to upload the log file?*
     
  7. Hermitt43

    Hermitt43

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    753
    If I were you I would upload the HJT log and let the TSG experts take a look at it.
    Just my opinion......
    Jim
     
  8. Symbolics

    Symbolics Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Well, guess I'll just upload it...
    Do tell me if something is not right.
    Here's the log file.

    My sincere thanks to Saga and Jim.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    I don't like the look of that Crawler toolbar so I suggest you tick to fix anything related to that and post another log. If I see it and think there are still issues, I'll click on Report to ask the Admins to move the thread to the more relevant Forum and doubtless Jim will do the same. Folks over there will be better able to analyse the log, although it may take a while because there's more logs than experts some days.
     
  10. Symbolics

    Symbolics Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    I think the Crawler toolbar is gone, here is another log file.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Hermitt43

    Hermitt43

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    753
    Maybe I'm mistaken, but it appears you have 2 Anti-virus apps installed.
    Zonelabs, and Antivira??
    You also have a LOT of toolbars you probably don't use which could be uninstalled (unless you use them).
    Using Registry Cleaners isn't a good idea. They can corrupt your system.
    ( C:\Program Files\SmartPCTools\Registry Repair Wizard\RCHelper.exe )
     
  12. Symbolics

    Symbolics Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    I'm sorry, but Zonelabs act only as a firewall (I have the anti-virus disabled), and Avira does its job.

    EDIT:

    FYI, I do use the toolbars.
     
  13. Hermitt43

    Hermitt43

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    753
    That's COOL.:)(y)
     
  14. Symbolics

    Symbolics Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    I don't know what's so cool, but i suppose my system is now clean?

    Edit:

    Gotta sleep, its late now. Will read your messages (if any) tomorrow.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/879422

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice