1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] svchost.exe keeps crashing!

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by kenbattou, Sep 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kenbattou

    kenbattou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Hello! I've been searching countless forums and have done almost everything they told me to. I don't have blaster or welchia or fizzer virus. Downloaded the removal tools but it came up empty. The weird thing with mine is that immediately upon startup my svchost crashes and not in 5-10 mins like what others report. Norton antivirus doesn't start up also (which I initially thought to be fizzer) nor can i copy+paste or do any office applications. I've had this problem for days now and am finally at a loss. Can any guru help me?? Pls?? Your help will be greatly appreciated.

    My Hijack log gave me this:Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
    Scan saved at 5:40:00 PM, on 9/29/2003
    Platform: Windows 2000 SP4 (WinNT 5.00.2195)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINNT\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Personal Firewall\NISUM.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\regsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\HHVcdV5Sys\VC5SecS.exe
    C:\WINNT\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINNT\Mixer.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
    C:\Program Files\HHVcdV5Sys\VC5Play.exe
    C:\Program Files\Virtual CD v5\System\VC5Tray.exe
    C:\Program Files\WinRAR\WinRAR.exe
    C:\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\winnt\googletoolbar_en_2.0.95-big.dll
    O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINNT\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\winnt\googletoolbar_en_2.0.95-big.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Synchronization Manager] mobsync.exe /logon
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [C-Media Mixer] Mixer.exe /startup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV Agent] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Tweak UI] RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VC5Player] C:\Program Files\HHVcdV5Sys\VC5Play.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINNT\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://c:\winnt\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-big.dll/cmsearch.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://c:\winnt\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-big.dll/cmbacklinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://c:\winnt\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-big.dll/cmcache.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://c:\winnt\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-big.dll/cmsimilar.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page - res://c:\winnt\GoogleToolbar_en_2.0.95-big.dll/cmtrans.html
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {27527D31-447B-11D5-A46E-0001023B4289} (CoGSManager Class) - http://gamingzone.ubisoft.com/dev/packages/GSManager.cab
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/bonnie/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37878.1170833333
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab



    One more thing to add. I recently discovered about 10 bad sectors in my drive. These are new. I ran Gibson's SpinRite 5 and hopefully had these fixed or at least marked so it won't be used. Can this be the cause of svchost generating errors? my pc is dual boot and only Windows 2000 has problems while Win 98 is fine. Please please, if anyone out there knows the solution, I badly need your help. Much thanks in advance. ^_^

    :confused:
     
  2. kenbattou

    kenbattou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Just installed the patch microsoft provided. It runs better now but I still get the svchost error. Norton AV is working again and I did a full system scan again (w/ the latest definitions) and came up empty. Copy + paste works as well as microsoft office (as far as i tested it which was very little. before it would generate an error message in starting it up but now it doesn't) I find this very weird because after installing the patch things worked better but I was never connected to the net. How come so many things got screwed up? Anyway, I still don't have a network connection to my local lan nor an internet connection. When i click on the dialer (I use RasPPoE for Adsl) the svchost message pops up again and another message saying that the connection to my realtek adapter can't be found. the svchost error pops up intermettently even when I'm not doing anything. My W2k had sp4 long before this svchost fiasco. Any ideas?? :confused:
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I've split you into your own thread, and here is a cut and paste from a response you had in the thread you posted to:

     
  4. kenbattou

    kenbattou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    My apologies to everyone who was confused and for piggy-backing onto an existing thread. I wasn't aware of what I was doing. :) AcaCandy gracias por su ayuda. Buckaroo, thank you for your reply.

    Anyway i was reviewing the events and found what was happening. I still don't know WHY it's happening or How. My remote access control manager (RasMan) terminates unexpectedly and denies access (I have administrator privelages). i try to manually start it but it doesn't and stops the telephony and sometimes the Com+ and system event notifier services along with it. It doesn't start up either when the computer restarts because it says it can't create a buffer. Then every 5 minutes it tries to start itself and then terminates unexpectedly again taking out the telephony, etc etc services. I've disabled the RasMan temporarily and I don't get a svchost error...that is until i try to start it again. As of now, i'll keep it disabled until i can find a solution. Might anyone know what is going on and know a solution? Thank you very much. :)
     
  5. kenbattou

    kenbattou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    To all those who might have this problem in the future, I was finally able to fix it. I redownloaded the network installation of W2k Service Pack 4, burnt it to cd and ran it onto my computer. Now I'm finally able to go back onto the internet and my computer is back to the state it was before. I'm going to go to Windows Update to download the latest hotfixes and patches so this doesn't happen again. :D (y) (y)
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Cool, thanks for letting us know :D
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - [SOLVED] svchost keeps
  1. Mackoy
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    236
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168407

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice