1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: 'Switching User' - load of problems

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by paulb100, Apr 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. paulb100

    paulb100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,874
    I have Vista Ultimate 32 SP1 -
    We have 2 users on the laptop and when 1 user is logged in and then the other user either LOGS IN with switch user or User1 logs off THEN user2 logs in these problems occur:

    1.most tray icons don't load
    2.Firefox opens into memory but wont display on screen
    3.nothing is refreshing on screen - for example Task Manager shows but doesnt update unless i click 'refresh now' then it updates once only
    4.context menus same slower to appear or sometimes appear half faded or dont work at all

    now I dunno but I thought Firefox-Preloader had caused it so I uninstalled it but now its just the same... user2 has to restart windows completley to get on....

    why is this???


    thanks
     
  2. XtremeNuker

    XtremeNuker

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    286
    Buddy can I just check with you your computer memory specs and the amount of virtual memory that has been allocated in the system which you are trying to perform this action.
     
  3. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,305
    First Name:
    David
    Switch user has been a pain in the tush since it came out in what ever version it was. I think early XP or late 2k.

    I had tried it and found that by logging off and then logging in the new user, was just as fast as trying to switch users. I have NOT lost any data or connections when I have logged off.
     
  4. paulb100

    paulb100 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,874
    doesnt matter how you do it - it happens, got to completley shutdown and restart for the other user to log in... its been ok until last week

    I have 2Gb RAM / 2.2Gb Page-File and also the Superfetch is only caching 300-400Mb and not the full 1500Mb like it used to since this happened
     
  5. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,070
    The switch user command came out with Windows XP. Are the users in question members of the "administrators group?' Just curious......
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/700902

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice