1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: symantec antivirus not updating

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by cmboken, Nov 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cmboken

    cmboken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Antivirus won't update...I get an error message saying LU1847: Live update could not determine if there is an update for this product because the update list for this product is corrupted. Pls. help!!! :confused:
     
  2. nastynas

    nastynas

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    13
  3. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,701
    The Symantec Knowledgebase only has one article about LU 1847 but it is very old and refers to some removal tools that Symantec no longer provides so I think it would be useless to try and follow its advice (complete uninstall and reinstall).

    Have you tried the Automatic Support function on the Symantec website or, if your product is new enough, you may be able to get email support; http://www.symantec.com/en/us/home_homeoffice/support/index.jsp

    If you feel like an attempt at a D I Y solution you could try replacing the Live Update files, just in case that helps; http://www.symantec.com/techsupp/files/lu/lu.html (the version at the top of the list is probably the right one but check the Readme.txt file first)
     
  4. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,701
    So much for the Symantec Knowledgebase!! The article nastynas found is right on target and I assume it will involve using the Intelligent Updater option.
     
  5. cmboken

    cmboken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Thks Togg it downloaded successfully
     
  6. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,701
    The LU file comes as an .exe that you have to doubleclick on to install doesn't it? (I had NAV a few years ago and had to replace mine, but things may have changed since then!)

    If you've already got the new version installed, has it worked? The Intelligent Updater on the Symantec website should still work to keep you up to date while you work on a permanent fix for LU.
     
  7. cmboken

    cmboken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Yes, I installed and rebooted and all systems back to normal...Thks Togg
     
  8. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,701
    Glad to hear it, it beats an uninstall reinstall!. I once had to do that when I had NAV 2003 and it didn't give me any trouble, but uninstalling the newer versions can be a pain.

    You can mark this solved by clicking on the red triangle at the top right of your post.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/516535