Solved: System powers up for several seconds and shuts off?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bgdave1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
119
My ASUS motherboard failed and I RMA'd it, I got it back and reinstalled it and everything into the tower. I tried to boot it and it only powers on for several seconds and shuts off! Can anyone suggest what steps I might take to troubleshoot it?:confused: ASUS recommends 2" of padding all around the part to prevent damage in shipping, however they return shipped it in a FEDEX express box only about 2.5" thick with thin foam sheet wrapped over the I/O end and the opposite end...WAY TO GO ASUS....nothing like practicing what you preach!:mad:
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Power in for a few seconds and then shuts off is usually the CPU overheating or an overloaded PSU. You can usually eliminate the PSU if the system will turn back on again without pulling the power cord.

For the CPU, make sure the cooling fan is turning, and that you applied new thermal paste to the heatsink (neither too little or too much).

You might also look in the BIOS setup to see if there is an overtemp shutdown that is set too low.
 

bgdave1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
119
PSU is new and plug doesn't need to be pulled to turn on again after shut off. Applied artic silver 5 in correct amount to center of heat spreader. System will not boot far enough to even get into bios before it shuts down, hdd light comes on, cd-rom lights flash and bam it turns off:confused:
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Recheck everything again...even if you have to reinstall it step by step.....makesure the motherboard has the spacers applied and it is sitting flat.
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Is this the same system you posted about two weeks ago, except with only a new motherboard?
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
You really need to give the hardware models of what you are using to expect help on a hardware issue. If this is an Intel socket 775, I would bet there is one pin not all the way through the mobo but who knows we haven't a clue what your hardware is.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
657
I rma'd a motherboard to asus previously....They sent me a worse for wear replacement that was DOA....Upon RMAing this board asus contacted me saying they had no replacement for my board they offered a free upgrade.It all worked out in the end but you are correct about the packaging...
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
I sent back a video card 4 times to them before I finally got one that worked. TG they have a quick turn-around time.
 

bgdave1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
119
ASUS P5GV-MX socket 775 mobo, Intel prescott 3.4 GHz, new Antec True Power Trio TP3-550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply, 4 x 512 DDR 400.
 

bgdave1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
119
Well this problem turned out to be a faulty new Antec 550 PSU, Newegg rma'd it and the replacement worked fine, system is up n running!:D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top