1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: System restore error, windows 7 falling apart

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by hazyrae, Jan 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hazyrae

hazyrae Thread Starter

I recently downloaded divx, it was a nightmare to uninstall, so on the advice of a forum I used revo uninstaller to get rid of it. When I then uninstalled revo it all went wrong.

I'm not very good with computers, so bear with me. My internet now says it isn't connected when it is, a lot of my control panel isn't working, and my sound card wont play on spotify. I attempted system restore but it comes up with unexpected error 0x80042302.

I'm very worried about this as I'm not sure what to do and I need my computer for work.

I found this thread: http://forums.techguy.org/windows-7/968500-solved-windows-update-windows-system.html

Where someone seemed to have the same problem and it was solved by 'reinstalling.' Forgive my ignorance, but does that mean reinstalling windows 7? and if so, how do I go about uninstalling it first? and would I need an external hard drive? I'm having such a nightmare and would be very grateful if anyone could help me.

I don't know if it's relevant but I have Windows 7, 64 bit, and Norton.

Thanks in advance

Hazyrae

2. joeten

joeten

Hi please post the make and model of your computer,do you have a install or recovery disc or recovery partition

3. Kapustin Yar

Kapustin Yar