Solved: system restore

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

truecrime

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 22, 2009
Messages
126
I am working on a microsoft vista home edition. Tried 3 different times to restore my computer as it has been acting up. The system restore is not completing its restore. Thought maybe I could run a copy of my computer and a tech could look it over to see if I could have problems. I am not real computer smart so step by step instructions would help. Thank you in advance.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
2,637
hi,are you restoring back to an earlier time or are wanting a factory reset which wipes everything and takes you back to an out-of-the-box state
 

truecrime

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 22, 2009
Messages
126
Trying to restart from an earlier date. I had a couple updates, one to do with Java and another with avg and thought one could have been the problem, but can't restore to the earlier date. Also ran my superantispyware and malware bytes. After running I uninstalled them for now. I have google chrome and internet explorer. I noticed that internet explorer can not load my saved pages. I just continues to spin. and not load. Help
 

truecrime

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 22, 2009
Messages
126
Well I have been playing with this all evening. Uninstalled Java 7 update 11 because I thought it could be causing problems. Later this evening I reinstalled. It is causing me problems but I am not savvy enough to understand which ones. Will let it go for tonight, but google chrome is working fine, internet explorer not so well. System restore I have no idea about.....malwarebytes and superantispyware reinstalled.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
3,992

truecrime

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 22, 2009
Messages
126
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Basic, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
Processor: AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 3500+, x64 Family 15 Model 79 Stepping 2
Processor Count: 1
RAM: 1917 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE, 128 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 184769 MB, Free - 128792 MB; D: Total - 6009 MB, Free - 890 MB;
Motherboard: ASUSTek Computer INC., Pyrite
Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2013, Updated and Enabled

Local disk (D) was good. HP (C) disk had to shut down and restart to check for errors. Nothing came up after restart.
System Restore ran in safe mode and successfully completed. Checked Internet Explorer and pages are now loading. I believe problems have been fixed. Restore point was before Java 7 update 11 installment. Think I will ignore this java update for a while. Ran AVG good scan- Ran SuperAntiSpyware and Malwarebytes. Thank you so much for your help....
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
3,992
Glad it all worked out for you :) If you would, please mark this Solved by clicking on the icon at top of page :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top