1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: System restored my computer, now it won't connect to internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ali2mardan, Jan 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ali2mardan

    ali2mardan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    I recently system restored my computer, and it was connected fine to my d-link DIR-615 router, but now it does not connect, what do i do?
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,753
    Click Start > Run > type CMD

    Click OK.

    In the Command Prompt, type in the bold text, one command after the other, pressing Enter between each one of them:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Restart the computer.
     
  3. ali2mardan

    ali2mardan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    ok, I did that, now what do I do? P.S. thanks for replying
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,753
    Did you restart your computer? Any change?
     
  5. ali2mardan

    ali2mardan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    nope, no change i still cannot connect, and yes i did restart
     
  6. ali2mardan

    ali2mardan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Mehdi Raza>IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Syed-Desktop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810X Family PCI Fast
    Ethernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-8F-CE-7C-DB

    C:\Documents and Settings\Mehdi Raza>
    ________________________________________
    ^^ip config settings, if this helps
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,766
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you are connected to the router by cable - correct

    can we see a device manager screen shot or image

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, menu on the left hand side

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if the above does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
    or
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    Windows 8
    If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW and the X keys together.
    If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm

    once you are in device manager then

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X

    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ----
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  8. ali2mardan

    ali2mardan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    here is the screen shot, there are many yellow question marks
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,753
    Can you expand "Network adaptors"?
     
  10. ali2mardan

    ali2mardan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    here you go
     

    Attached Files:

  11. ali2mardan

    ali2mardan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    any luck?
     
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,753
    You are connected to the router by cable, correct?
     
  13. ali2mardan

    ali2mardan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    correct
     
  14. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,753
  15. ali2mardan

    ali2mardan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    i gonna try this and come back, so please don't go anywhere
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083875

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice