1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: TCP error message

Discussion in 'Networking' started by hiraan, May 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hiraan

    hiraan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Hi,

    I'm trying to open certain websites but the browser gives me this message:
    "Network Error (tcp_error)


    A communication error occurred: "Operation timed out"
    The Web Server may be down, too busy, or experiencing other problems preventing it from responding to requests. You may wish to try again at a later time.

    For assistance, contact your network support team."

    I've tried with other browser the same, I've done ipconfig/flushdns and no change!

    OS: vista
    Browser: IE8
    Thanks!
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Can you share the URL of those "certain websites"?

    What happens if you do a TRACERT to the URL?
     
  3. hiraan

    hiraan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    :) nothing special about those websites, but her is 2 examples:
    www.adslgate.com
    www.qiyas.org

    What's TRACERT?
    Thanks.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by Enter.



    PING www.adslgate.com

    PING www.qeyas.com

    TRACERT www.adslgate.com

    TRACERT www.qeyas.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  5. hiraan

    hiraan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Her is it:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Mohammed Abalkhail>ping www.adslgate.com

    Pinging adslgate.com [212.162.148.201] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 212.162.148.201:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Mohammed Abalkhail>ping www.qeyas.com

    Pinging www.qeyas.com [212.11.166.114] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 212.11.166.114:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),


    Really appreciate your help.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, I had the same luck, didn't try it before I suggested it. Obviously, they don't respond to pings.

    However, I can access the sites, although I have a tiny problem with the language! :D

    Are other sites working correctly?

    Have you tried these sites from another nearby location?
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,186
    First Name:
    Terry
    I can access those web pages but do not get replies to pings, so I assume that the sites do not respond to ping. What about the TRACERTs John requested?
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I'm thinking maybe something in the network is configured to block them. That's why I wanted to see the traces, see if they fail at the same place mine do. :)
     
  9. hiraan

    hiraan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    :D well I can pass tiny problems.
    And yes all other sites are ok, this issue have developed only two days ago!, before that everything was fine.

    I've accessed them through my GPRS besed pocket pc and worked fine!.

    As I mentioned previousley I've no idea what TRACERT is?
    Thanks.
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Look at post #4 in this thread.
     
  11. hiraan

    hiraan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    ^^^^
    I got that, but what confused me was a website I found www.tracert.com!.
    ـــــــــــــــــــــــــ
    Finally, I can open those sites now!.
    Thanks John.
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I think this was most likely an ISP issue.
     
  13. hiraan

    hiraan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    I agree with you.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/825399

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice