1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: "The page failed to load" Control Panel > System

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by CJS23, Oct 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CJS23

    CJS23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    718
    Hi

    When I right click My Computer on Vista Start menu the page says "The page failed to load"

    I enclose a screenshot of the error.

    I was also get "the application has failed to start because WINBRAND.dll was not found" when running

    SystemPropertiesAdvanced

    From RUN

    This has now been fixed by downloading WINBRAND.dll and copying it to c:\windows\system32

    But "The page failed to load" still happens when right clicking My Computer and choosing properties.

    I did a SFC / Scannow and something weird happened. The Command Window had an error (apologies - forgot to note which but will rerun in a moment) however the CBS Log File showed no errors and indicated SFC ran successfully.

    I will post the results of SFC in a few moments

    Thanks for your help.

    *************************************************
     

    Attached Files:

  2. CJS23

    CJS23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    718
    Ran SFC / Scannow in Elevated Command Prompt. Seems unable to repair despite problems being found.

    Screenshots attached of both Command Windows and extract of CBS log file
     

    Attached Files:

  3. CJS23

    CJS23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    718
    Still cannot complete SFC successfully.

    Screenshot plus SFC Errors from CBS log attached

    The Asus Laptop did not come with Vista Disc only Recovery Partition.

    OS is Vista x86
     

    Attached Files:

  4. CJS23

    CJS23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    718
    Blue Screen of Death Now.Laptop is Asus X50GL

    Windows Error Reporting Additional Information tells me . . . . .
    ****************

    Additional technical information

    Although we know the problem is caused by a hardware component, the error report does not contain enough information to tell us the specific component. It is likely that the problem is being caused by one of the following computer components:

    Random access memory (RAM)
    System board
    Central Processing Unit (CPU)
    Power supply

    ************************

    I have the Asus Recovery Disk but how reliable is the information after Blue Screen in suggesting hardware related BSOD?


    Just ran Speed fan and temps of Cores 0 & 1 are 64 & 65 deg C. GPU is similar and ACPI says 74 deg C!!
     
  5. CJS23

    CJS23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    718
    bump
     
  6. CJS23

    CJS23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    718
    Data has been backed up and trying to use ASUS Recovery DVD to reinstall.

    Deleted partitions and filled HDD with Zero's before using DVD.

    Blue screen again.

    More Googling.

    Changed BIOS options for Hard Drive from Enhanced to Compatible.

    All seemed to go well until reboot then Blue Screen. As I type this an error has come on screen of laptop.

    "explorer.exe - Entry Point Not Found"

    the procedure entry point PSGetPropertyKeyFromName could not be located in the dynamic link library PROPSYS.dll.

    What the hell is going on? After using Recovery DVD I am asked for ASUS Drivers CD which I duly install.

    I am going to try again but will NOT put in Driver's CD - I have all latest correct drivers on Flash Drive anyways.

    Laptop ASUS X50GL Motherboard F5GL-AP0-62C

    Grateful for any help.

    Cleaned out Laptop by the way and temps now down to mid 50s C
     
  7. CJS23

    CJS23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    718
    bump
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I'd run a memory test for at least a couple of hours. ANY failures are cause for concern. I normally use MEMtest86, and Microsoft Memory Diagnostic is also a good choice. Either one will do the job.
     
  9. CJS23

    CJS23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    718
    JohnWill

    By pure coincidence I noticed that Memtest was included on a Gnome Parted CD I've been using to delete partition before each (unsuccessful) recovery attempt.

    It's the first time I've used it but it's got loads of Red failing addresses at the bottom. I was therefore amazed to read your post AFTER feeling quite clever for stumbling across the memtest diagnosis - lol!

    So can the results be taken as authoritative? The laptop has 3GB RAM - assuming it's a 1GB + 2GB - will memtest be able to determine which component is failing?

    Having tried so many other things - this would make perfect sense.

    Incidentally - this would mean that there is no connection between Enhanced / Compatible SATA in BIOS, I would guess?

    Thanks again
     
  10. CJS23

    CJS23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    718
    Taking out the 1GB RAM Chip has solved the problem!

    Reinstalled OS and customer / myself very happy.

    Thanks JohnWill

    Chris
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/872347