1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: The Sims

Discussion in 'Games' started by Tika4, Feb 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tika4

    Tika4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    96
    This will probably sound stupid, but what the heck. :eek: Is there any way at all (patch or otherwise) to run The Sims on Windows 2000 Professional? It's the only game I play, but I've decided I hate Windows XP and want to use Windows 2000 Professional. I am preparing to partition my hard drive (for about the 5th time), but wondering if there is another way around this problem? Thanks.
     
  2. WarC

    WarC

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    5,531
    It should run, I've never had trouble running that game on Windows 2000.

    If it isn't working for you, you should make sure you have the latest service pack for Windows 2000. The latest patch for The Sims might help, too! It can't hurt anyways.
     
  3. Tika4

    Tika4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    96
    SHOOT! I wish I would have found this site 3 months ago when I built and bought my new computer!! After buying my new computer I let it sit for 3 months while I saved up the money to purchase Windwos 2000 Professional ($270), Windows XP Professional ($200), Partition Magic 8 ($65). I did this because my friends (yes, more than one even, including one who works as an IT) *insisted* that The Sims would not work on Windows 2000. They destroyed my computer several times over because they don't know what they are doing. Today I had my friend put it back to it's original state, no partitions or anything, and installed only my Windows 2000 Professional OS. I was preparing to learn how to do the partitioning myself when I decided to post this question. THANK YOU SO MUCH!! I just installed The Sims and it works fine.

    I know I look like a complete idiot, but I trusted my friends because for a long time they knew a lot more about computers than I did. From now on I will do things myself and come here if I need help.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Sims
  1. CrossroadsCountess
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    606
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/326775

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice