1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: The techs at school did something to my computer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MushroomButt, Oct 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MushroomButt

MushroomButt Thread Starter

Hi, Im a computer noob so yeh..uh i took my computer to the techs at school today. adn they put all their school porgrams and the schoools wireless network. i came back for it and when i turned it on at home, the wireless switch didnt work. Ive got an Acer TravelMate4070 with windows xp and the wireless light is supposed to come on but it doesnt light up! but i can see the icon on my toolbar thingy at the bottom. and they also put restrictions on my computer as well. like ur not allowed to change your theme and stuff. does any1 know how to undo them without getting rid of the school programs?
    Thanks=]

2. Goldfish92

Goldfish92

You will have to ask the techies at your school. They will have to give you permissions to do that kind of stuff (change theme, install etc.) As for the wireless, can you try connecting to a network with it and see whether it works?

3. MushroomButt

Thanks, I dont think they would let me tho. my school is REALLY strict. like no games and stuff. The wireless cant detect any networks although i got a network set up at home. it worked before i gave my laptop to them. I might just go let them have a look at it but i wanna use it now. im borrowing mum's cable.
    Thanks

4. Goldfish92

Goldfish92