1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: "The website declined to show this webpage"

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Wiggyspond, Aug 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wiggyspond

    Wiggyspond Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    I am suddenly having trouble accessing web sites with PDF files, including trying to download PDF attachments from my GMAIL account (well, any type of file), and also accessing any Download pages, like Adobe Reader's EXE file. I get a message "The website declined to show this webpage" (error 403) instead. I'm not sure if this is related, but also I cannot seem to get Adobe Flash 9.0 embedded items to show up, no error messages either. (When I ask IE7 to list the add-ons being used, it doesn't even list it when it should be, from the page I am on.)

    I am running ZoneAlarm Security Suite v.7, IE 7, on Win XP SP 2.

    This is highly annoying.
    Thanks for any assistance.
     
  2. 415digital

    415digital

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Have you disabled Zone Alarm temporarily? Check the page and try to open a pdf.
     
  3. Wiggyspond

    Wiggyspond Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    I disabled it to try and download Adobe Reader 7, the exe file. I don't even get a warning from IE7 that says "to help protect your security, IE has blocked this download..." I manually clicked to start the download, and that is where I get the blocked web site.

    Oh hang on, I just tried it again for a PDF and it worked, and then I went back to the Adobe site, and it does let me download now. GMAIL now downloads...

    ZA did do an update a week or so ago, so something must have messed up. I will post on the user forums there and ask what's up. Or maybe it has to do with the popup blocker or something when I reset my AD blocking.

    Thanks for reminding me to double check.... :eek:
     
  4. 415digital

    415digital

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    No Problem. ZA can be reset to its default settings if you have tweaked the firewall, etc.
     
  5. Wiggyspond

    Wiggyspond Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Actually, what I did was go to the Options on the approved site list for those particular sites, and allow embedded objects, scripting, etc. That seems to be one way to solve the problem. I was supposed to save all my settings last time I reset ZA, and can't believe I forgot to do that. *sigh* It can be a pain reloading all the programs, web sites, etc.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/736054