1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: To overclock, or not to overclock?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BG-0, Oct 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BG-0

    BG-0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    My specs(also in the spec-thing):
    MSI K9N Neo-F V2
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ @ stock speed + Zalman 9700
    4 GB(3.325 usable) Kingston DDR2 800 RAM CL5
    750 GB Samsung Spinpoint F1 SATA 2 32MB cache
    Club 3D Radeon HD 4850
    Antec 300 + 2x120mm extra fans and two purple CCFLs
    Windows XP Pro SP2
    OCZ StealthXtream 600W

    Okay. I just installed a Zalman aftermarket CPU cooler and I think my temps are quite low now. Are the Athlon 64 X2s worth overclocking? I think it (and my RAM?) are bottlenecking my Radeon, let's say 10-25%. Right?

    So, would it be worth OCing the CPU to the top it can handle without changing voltages?
     
  2. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,463
    oh yes! I have a 5200 that runs happily as a 6000 on air, no probs at all. I did get it up to about 6500 standard, before it even thought about getting hot. The performance increase is pretty good, although the one thing i found was you need to play with the multiplier? FSB settings carefully, a lower muly and higher fsb might work or vice versa.. a bit of experimentation is useful to see how they go.
    but yes, definitely worth the clock :)
     
  3. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,463
    sorry, did i miss something P3? Or are you always abusive?
     
  4. BG-0

    BG-0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    After having a look at his sys specs, I'd say he's a little j-e-a-l-o-u-s... :rolleyes:

    Anyways, speaking of experimenting which way to go (high mult. or FSB), how do you mean to do this? Set it up for a reasonable bit going the other way, checking temps(or performance? I can't get 3Dmark to work, it just won't even start, any other utilities?) and then going the other way, and checking the temps (or perf., again) and comparing which was better, then choosing that one.
    Or?
     
  5. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,887
    P3NGYJ03,

    Since you just joined today you can take your foul mouth somewhere esle.

    Your account is banned permanently.
     
  6. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,463
    I started by boosting the multiplier all the way,then turning up the fsb, but found dropping the multiplier let the fsb go higher ( obvious I guess!) but it tended to go higher in terms of clock speed. having said that, i played with someone elses CPu, fairly similar, and found it went the other way- higher multi got a better clock speed and performance.
    I have a feeling its one of those fickle things, where certain chips are happier one way or the other, but its hard to tell which until you try. I would say bump the multiplier, if it will, then increas fsb till it stalls, then try dropping the multiplier then bump the fsb again.
    I tend to run for a while, then do a restart and check temps in BIOS- gives me a fair idea of where I am. not just for the actual temp, but a comparative view of what the increases are.
    CPU-Z ( I think ) will montor for you. For benchmarks, I found 3d mark was doing weird things- my system came out at about 15000, which was a decrease, but in terms of actual gameplay it blew away my previous set up.
     
  7. BG-0

    BG-0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    Ooomph. Bad one. Nice one. :)
    Just a note to anyone who happens to read this afterwards, that pengyjoe swore a bit between Gulo's first two posts.

    EDIT after reading the previous post:
    Actually just remembered that I can't up the multiplier. 14.5(current) is the max. I think I'll try what it does with 14 or 13 mult. Thanks for your advice. (y)
     
  8. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,463
    Oops- missed Acas comment there while I was typing. Strang guy- I was replying to his thread, and he runs into this one and gets abusive. Wish I knew what I did :(
     
  9. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,887
    I'm flattered but I'm not Aca. :D ;)
     
  10. BG-0

    BG-0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    Yeah... Too bad he had to come to this thread screwing around. Now we have another guy whining about this forum. :/ Ah well, he's not the first one to dislike this forum, for reasons they made themselves. I'll start tweaking later today, 3:50 AM isn't exactly the time for this. :D

    I'll mark this solved as soon as I have OCed a little without killing my CPU =)

    Edit2: Aren't admins called also ACA? I think gulo didn't mistake you for acacandy :rolleyes:
     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,887
    Well then I'm unflattered. :D:p

    I've never heard of that. :)
     
  12. nate93

    nate93

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    whats the point in OCing that thing? its good enough, and its just going to burn out quicker
     
  13. BG-0

    BG-0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    You always learn something new...

    The point is that it isn't good enough. Should've gone Intel. I just hope my cheapo Kingston RAM won't brake my system down too much... :/
     
  14. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,164
    I do not think the 5600 has an unlocked multi. The only way you can overclock is to up the fsb. The very first thing I would do would be enter the bios and engage the pci-e lock. If you do not do this, you end up overclocking the pci bus as well [not what you want to do] Next lower the ram to the next lower speed. This is for two reasons; when you up the fsb, it will come back to at or above its speed now AND it removes the ram as a source of errors. Next find C&Q and disable.

    Once done, save settings and restart. Again enter the bios and up the fsb from 200 to something like 215 or so. Find the HT [hyper transport] multi and lower that from 5 to 4. Save settings and restart. Let the system fully boot. Now run prime95 for at least 15-20min. Note only the later versions of prime95 work with dual cores. If it is stable ie no errors. Restart and enter the bios again. Up the fsb from 215 to 220 or so. Repeat the stability test. Keep doing this until you find an error in prime95. When you do, then you have a choice; backoff to a known stable overclock OR up the vcore and chipset voltages and attempt again.

    FWIW I do not recommend upping either vcore or NB/chipset voltages. This is where you can really do some damage to a system.

    Remember if it is not prime95 stable, it is NOT stable.
     
  15. BG-0

    BG-0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    Yeah, I have read those things from your posts for about 2366 times.. And there's a freely settable pci bus clock, and I see no lock, therefore I think that it is independent of the FSB by default.

    A thing I wanted to say... I'm not 100% sure, but I think there was nothing I could do to my ram speeds... Except three kinds of lock settings... Auto, limit and manual.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/757034

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice