Solved: Traces of MSE still active after Uninstalling

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

marburg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
114
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 3 Stepping 4
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 1014 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) 82865G Graphics Controller, 64 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 305234 MB, Free - 224234 MB;
Motherboard: ASUSTek Computer Inc., P4P800-MX, Rev 1.xx, MB-1234567890
Antivirus: Kaspersky Internet Security, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled

:confused: I am concerned that elements of Microsoft's Security Essentials are still active in my system after it was removed by a
Tech. Win Xp (Home) was reinstalled after a disk error/failure, however he loaded Trend Internet Security as a trial, claiming
it was superior (Rot), However after removing Trend I have been unable to reinstall MSE, usually "installation failed with error code 0x80070645. No matter what was tried, same result. ( I've since installed "Revo Uninstaller Pro" for all future uninstalls) but it can't help cleaning out MSE as its not listed).

I've searched the web, and tried just about everything, but I'm reluctant to edit the Registry (mainly thru lack of experience and knowledge) which must be the root of the problem.

Belarc Advisor (copy attatched, together with a HJT log), highlights MSE has Realtime File Scanning On -
MSE Vers 2.1.6805.0, Eng Vers 1.1.5902.0 and Virus Vers 1.85.1073.0. (is this a false indicator ???) .and the reason web pages/program loading is slow ???

I've since loaded Kaspersky and quiet content with it, however I've noticed, even with Trend, the system loading of WEB pages/Pgms, is slow, (NOT the case when MSE was running) while bootup is still quick and clean. (except for Autoruns Disabled ??? :(. WHY and how can it be recovered.

Your help would be appreciated ONCE again :eek:

Regards Marburg
 

Attachments

marburg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
114
Thankyou for your interest once again - Phantom010,

Yes I re ran the Trend tool previously, along with many others, but just in case I re ran it as suggested, Still No Joy..:(

While I perservere (?) with the MSE problem, Whats the impact of having Autoruns Disabled ?

Is it possible that Belarc Adviser is at fault ??? :confused:

Regards - Marburg
 

marburg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
114
Thankyou DVK01 - for your response and guidance

Both Reports have been generated, :) with DDS.txt and Attach.zip.being atttached.

Again thankyou for your assistance(y)


JACK HACKETT . How do I remove the Balarc report once its been posted in the thread.

Regards and thankyou for your interest;)

Marburg
 

Attachments

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
go to add/remove programs & uninstall Microsoft Antimalware
then
it looks like it is only left over entries in WMI and if that doesn't remove it & I don't think it will
Delete any existing version of ComboFix you have sitting on your desktop
Please read and follow all these instructions very carefully
Do not edit or remove any information or user names etc, otherwise we cannot fix the problem. If you insist on editing out anything then I will close the topic & refuse to offer any help.

Download ComboFix from Here or Hereto your Desktop.
As you download it rename it to username123.exe


**Note: It is important that it is saved directly to your desktop and run from the desktop and not any other folder on your computer**
--------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix.

  • Very Important! Temporarily disable your anti-virus and anti-malware real-time protection and any script blocking components of them or your firewall before performing a scan. They can interfere with ComboFix or remove some of its embedded files which may cause "unpredictable results" or stop combofix running at all
  • Click on THIS LINK to see instructions on how to temporarily disable many security programs while running combofix. The list does not cover every program. If yours is not listed and you don't know how to disable it, please ask.
  • Remember to re enable the protection again after combofix has finished
--------------------------------------------------------------------
2. Close any open browsers and any other programs you might have running
Double click on combofix.exe & follow the prompts.​
If you are using windows XP It might display a pop up saying that "Recovery console is not installed, do you want to install?"
Please select yes & let it download the files it needs to do this. Once the recovery console is installed Combofix will then offer to scan for malware. Select continue or yes.
When finished, it will produce a report for you.
Please post the "C:\ComboFix.txt" for further review


****Note: Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it's running. That may cause it to stall or freeze ****

Note: ComboFix may reset a number of Internet Explorer's settings, including making it the default browser.
Note: Combofix prevents autorun of ALL CDs, floppies and USB devices to assist with malware removal & increase security. If this is an issue or makes it difficult for you -- please tell us when you reply. Read HERE why we disable autoruns

Please do not install any new programs or update anything (always allow your antivirus/antispyware to update) unless told to do so while we are fixing your problem. If combofix alerts to a new version and offers to update, please let it. It is essential we always use the latest version.
 

marburg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
114
DKV01 - Derek

Thankyou for the detail, as instructed after Disabling Kaspersky and Malwarebytes, and not being able identify or
Disable MSE, I started unsername123.exe and it PAUSED with :(

" [U]COMBOFIX has detected the following realtime scanners to be active -

"antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials -
This may lead to unpredictable results or possible machine damage

Please Disable these scanners before clicking OK
"[/U]

I am hesitant to click "OK" - PLEASE advise if I rerun and continue with OKAY

Regards Marburg
 

marburg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
114
DVK01 - Derek

:eek:
I Missed your instruction to uninstall Microsofts Antimalware comment before I ran DDS and Comofix,

however I have since deleted Microsofts Antimalware via Windows Search and Revo Uninstaller as I couldn't locate it via Control Panels Add/Delete and Reran Both again,..

Both logs are attached for comment

Regards marburg
 

Attachments

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
please run combofix as I asked

we will use that to remove the left over parts of MSE so it is safe to ignore any warnings from Comb0fix about it
 

marburg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
114
DVK01 - Derek

Thank you again, :)

Ran Combofix as requested and accepted the Warnings issued and also nominated the Recovery Console.

AutoScan for infected files - completed 50 stages and deleted 2 folders and 2 files, System permitted to Auto Reboot

Combofix generated report attached - however I noticed within the report that MSE is Enabled/Outdated still, in addition to AVG Firewall being disabled as previously highlighted in other reports :confused:

Regards - Marburg
 

Attachments

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
Download the attached CFScript.txt and save it to your desktop ( click on the link underneath this post & if you are using internet explorer when the "File download" pop up comes press SAVE and choose desktop in the list of selections in that window & press save)

Disable any antivirus/antimalware/firewall realtime protection or script blocking in the same way you did previously before running combofix & remember to re-enable it when it has finished

Close any open browsers
Then drag the CFScript.txt into the ComboFix.exe as shown in the screenshot below.







This will start ComboFix again. It may ask to reboot. Post the contents of Combofix.txt in your next reply .


Note: these instructions and script were created specifically for this user. If you are not this user, do NOT follow these instructions or use this script as it could damage the workings of your system and will not fix your problem. If you have a similar problem start your own topic in the malware fixing forum
 

Attachments

marburg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
114
:) DVK01 - Derek - You are a Whiz, mate

Comboxfix offered a new version so I updated and merged script as offered -

All console messages same as before but no AutoReboot -

Log would suggest the problem is fixed - Thanks again, Will reboot and play abit before confirming your fix.

Please email the details of your Hedgehog Rescue Centre together with some info on its activities,
although I'm an Aussie, still interested in donating and learning about same

Again thanks for all your effort

Marburg
 

Attachments

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
reboot to make sure that everything is OK then
*Follow these steps to uninstall Combofix and the other tools it downloaded to remove the malware*
* Click START then RUN
* Now type Combofix /Uninstall in the runbox and click OK. Note the space between the X and the /U, it needs to be there.


This will also purge the restore folder and clear any malware that has been put in there. Now Empty Recycle bin on desktop Then reboot.

go here http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/index.php?page=3 for info on how to tighten your security settings and how to help prevent future attacks.

and scan here http://secunia.com/software_inspector/ for out of date & vulnerable common applications on your computer and update whatever it suggests

Then pay an urgent visit to windows update & make sure you are fully updated, that will help to plug the security holes that let these pests on in the first place
 

marburg

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 28, 2006
Messages
114
:) DVK01 - Derek (y)

Completed review as proposed - everything up to date from Settings, JRE to pgms - System rebooted AOKAY (y)

Haveagoodday :D

Dont forget the Hedgehog details

Marburg
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top