Solved: Transfer Microsoft Office from dead computer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
1,005
Welcome to TSG. Contact Microsoft and see about a replacement cd if you can't find your original.
 

flourcollie

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
25
Wow, I wish I knew that was an option before I bought the external drive enclosure. Can you give me a heads up about the replacement cost?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,266
I have a dead Dell Dimension with a legitimately purchased Microsoft Office Enterprise Suite 2007 Student Edition on it.
There is no such version as Microsoft Office Enterprise Suite 2007 Student Edition.

You have either Microsoft Office Enterprise 2007 or Microsoft Office Home And Student 2007.

Here is the "Contact Us" site.

You can't copy it from one computer to another. It has to be reinstalled.

--------------------------------------------------------------------
 

flourcollie

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
25
Thank you all for your help.

flavallee, thank you for the direct link. I was looking at my order confirmation from when I purchased it, but at second look it is Microsoft Office Enterprise 2007 (Student Edition). I think the (Student Edition) part was just referring to my discount. ;)

Thanks for the idea, IMP49. I have tried OpenOffice before, but I think I am just spoiled on Office because I find it very difficult.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,266
Browse through the listings here and you may be able to find a used copy at a good price.

I needed a copy of Microsoft Office 97 Professional Edition last year for a volunteer computer that I was working on, and I found a used copy here for $25.00.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
No, you can't just copy the files. Office doesn't work that way. Unfortunately, it looks like you'll have to either re-buy Office or use OpenOffice. That was an expensive lesson in keeping CDs in a safe place. I store them in CD binders, and I haven't lost one since I bought my first computer many, many years ago.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,266
No, you can't just copy the files. Office doesn't work that way. Unfortunately, it looks like you'll have to either re-buy Office or use OpenOffice. That was an expensive lesson in keeping CDs in a safe place. I store them in CD binders, and I haven't lost one since I bought my first computer many, many years ago.
To add to what DoubleHelix said, if you're going to pay good money to buy a Windows operating system or Office suite or any other program, treat your CD's/DVD's and their product keys/serial numbers like gold because you never know when you're going to need them again.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top