1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Tricky one: possible to look for a value in a **cell** with many values?

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by whats_this, Oct 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. whats_this

whats_this Thread Starter

(Don 't be intimidated by the length of this post; the essence is simple; I'm just a bit talky; I think it gives a clearer picture :) )

Hi guys. This is my first time here. I've been searching for almost an entire year now for a solution to this, and found nothing. I found your forum. Thank you so much for all the help you've given to people. I hope one of you can find a solution for this one.

I work for a huge multinational company with a massive number of employees. One of my tasks is to maintain a database containing the training certificates the employees are awarded. Regularly (a few times a daily), I get requests from different departments asking if the so and so employee has been awarded something/anything. They always send me excel sheets containing employee numbers and I have to compare their sheet to the master sheet I maintain.

Now here's the tricky part: I have two columns only, one for the certificate number, and the other for the employee numbers (dummy file attached). I put all the employee numbers in one cell, separated by space. Is there a way I can search for a value inside a cell, instead of just simply matching cells? This can easily be done using the search function, but often I get huge numbers of employee numbers, and using Ctrl+F in such cases consumes a ridiculous amount of time.

My question is easier to understand if you open the file.

Thanks in advance.

Alex