1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Troubling with setting-up Wireless Router!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by chow2rich, Jan 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chow2rich

chow2rich Thread Starter

Help I never ever had setup a wireless network. My major is Cisco Networking. But however I never had to setup a wireless network. Cisco talked more about connection-oriented network instead wireless networks. I can't setup my wireless router with my wireless laptop. Please can somebody help me! (n)

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

Well, it would help a bunch if you told us something about the environment.

Make/model of the modem, router, and wireless card. Version and patch level of Windows in use.

Also, what are the EXACT symptoms of the failure you get, and what have you tried so far?

3. chow2rich

chow2rich Thread Starter

Well, my wireless adapter is Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection, my wireless router is NetGear model # MR814, used to have DSL modem, now have dial-up, and using Windows XP Media Center. My Laptop is a Toshiba, Intel Centrino Duo Core, 1.5 GB of Ram, 1.6 GHZ, and Harddrive Capacity 150 GB of Ram. That's it. Thanks! (y)

4. JohnWill

I'm trying to find out what you've done so far. Did you try following the procedure outlined in the setup instructions for the router? Can you connect to the DSL modem directly and get a connection?

5. chow2rich

chow2rich Thread Starter

Like I said I don't have DSL anymore, but I have the modem. I'm using dial-up connection to get online. (n)

6. JohnWill

What are you going to do with the wireless router if you don't have broadband?

7. chow2rich

chow2rich Thread Starter