1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: trying to get visual studio to install

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by mattig89ch, Feb 2, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mattig89ch

    mattig89ch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    398
    Hello all,

    I am a full time college student, part of that (unfortunately) is learning to program in C++. Now, my school gives me a copy of visual studio 2010 in the form of an ISO image. But it seems that no matter what i do it won't install on my deskotp at home.

    I've tried downloading the image 3 times now, from 2 different sources (the school site, and onthehub). I tried using daemon tools lite to mount the image and run it, and I burned the image to a dvd (one of the last blank dvds I have left). They both give me the same error. Here is part of the error log:

    [02/02/13,11:43:04] Microsoft Application Error Reporting: [2] CMsiComponent::Install() expects the setup file for Microsoft Application Error Reporting, but the file failed verification.
    [02/02/13,11:43:04] setup.exe: [2] ISetupComponent::pre/Post/Install() failed in ISetupManager::InternalInstallManager() with HRESULT -2147467259.
    [02/02/13,11:43:05] VS70pgui: [2] DepCheck indicates Microsoft Application Error Reporting is not installed.

    Basically, it starts the installer, tries to install the error reporting software, and fails somehow.

    Is there a way around the error reporting software?
     
  2. jdean

    jdean

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    433
    If you google the error message (http://tinyurl.com/au3psya) there are other people who have run into the same problem. It isn't clear what the problem is, or if there is a good solution, but if you browse through the results, you'll find some suggestions, and you'll find that some people have been able to work around the problem.

    (Sorry for not providing a real answer here, but I didn't see anything conclusive in the results I saw. I'm suggesting that you read the discussions yourself in the hope that it might give you some ideas.) Good luck!
     
  3. Rollin_Again

    Rollin_Again

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,912
    Is the install starting on it's own or do you have to click on a particluar .exe or .msi file??

    Are you an admin on the machine in question? Have you tried right clicking the install setup file and choosing to "Run as Admin" ??


    Rollin
     
  4. mattig89ch

    mattig89ch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    398
    got it!

    I had to go through dreamspark, but the iso was corupted during the download from my schools website. belive it or not, they both pointed to the same download location, but it worked.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1087911

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice