1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Trying to read a 720K 3.5" floppy

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Alex Ethridge, Nov 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    I have a stack of a few hundred floppies here, all 3.5" 720K and I can't get any of the twenty or so floppy disk drives to read any of them. It's been many moons since I handled a 3.5" 720K floppy; but, I do remember all the floppy disk drives I ever had would read 720's and 1.44's without any special help. Just put 'em in and click on them or type a DOS command and they ran.

    To be clear, these drives all read 1.44's just fine.

    I've tried on a DOS 6 system, a Windows 98 System and a Windows 2000 system. And, yes, the drives are set up in the BIOS.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    I don't understand why tyou can't read them. My 2 most commonly used drives read them fine, and in fact, I've formatted all my floppies to hold 1.68 MB's in Vista and they read those perfectly, too. But before I did that, I formatted them as 720's just to see if it would work. I can also read some old Radio Shack 720's that are kicking around.

    Are you sure those floppies don't have some unusual format?

    I suppose you could try a file recovery program, like BadCopy Pro, or [email protected] Floppy Recovery.
     
  3. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    I found the cause of the problem. It was a bad cable; but, the strange thing about this was that they would read, write and format a 1.44 but not a 720K. I might have figured it out sooner if it weren't for this strange behavior.

    Thanks.
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    There must be a dedicated conductor for just 720's or some combination that must be present. What was wrong with the cable? Were you able to determine exactly?
     
  5. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    No, I just swapped it and everything worked after. I needed to be sure so I swapped it back and it quit again.

    I blame the failure on age (pre 1995 vintage running Windows 3.1) and the fact I had to replace her floppy and had been pulling on it.
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    LOL. There also seem to be quite a few floppy cables that differ from one another in crossovers, etc. Thanks for the info.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/646220

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice