1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved (twice): Vista and WinRAR

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by goldcoaster, Feb 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. goldcoaster

    goldcoaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I have a problem with winRAR on my Vista Premium.

    I have recently upgraded to Windows Vista Home Premium and, yesterday, installed the demo of WinRar3.62 - the latest non-beta release. Unfortunately Vista asks for permission every time I want to use it. I looked on your site and Google and v3.70B3 is meant to work fine with Vista.
    I uninstalled 3.62 and installed 3.70B3 but the problem still exists. Vista still asks for permission to let WinRar run, even if I am just using the right click context.

    Maybe the v3.62 doesn't uninstall completely and leaves some .dll's etc. . Could you let me know what entries should be deleted etc. for a complete uninstall so I can try again.

    thanks,
    GoldCoaster
     
  2. goldcoaster

    goldcoaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Anyone?? Please?
     
  3. goldcoaster

    goldcoaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I will answer my own problem.
    I contacted Rarlabs themselves and this is what they had to say, I hope it helps the next person with this problem.

    We fixed this problem in WinRAR 3.70, but it seems to be, Vista
    stores information about previous WinRAR version and continues
    to use that information even when you installed a newer version.
    So if you install WinRAR 3.70 just over 3.62, it may not help.

    We are yet to find out where Vista stores the information about
    previously installed version. It is difficult, because we cannot
    reproduce this problem on our computers, but it was reported by
    several users.

    I suggest to try the following:

    uninstall WinRAR completely and install the latest WinRAR 3.70 beta
    to a new folder like "c:\Program Files\WinRAR37" instead of
    "c:\Program Files\WinRAR" proposed by default. Then reboot
    the computer.

    Some users reported that it helped to run regedit, search for
    "WinRAR" entries in Registry and delete them all before installing
    WinRAR 3.70, but it may be an overkill in your case.

    I ran regedit and deleted all entries and it worked fine after that.

    ---------------
    - GoldCoaster
     
  4. purp1

    purp1

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    hello

    i ran across your thread when i googled "uninstall WinRAR 3.70" , i tried this software today. the Trial version because i needed something to open a RAR file. the whole thing got messed up i dunno how. I uninstalled everything i was trying to use to no avail. i cleaned up the registry with a cleaner. But this one file tells me i don't have access to delete it and i CANNOT get it off.:confused: it would be really nice if you could possibly help me. i have already written them an email as well. Thanks for your time and attention.



    Hoping to find resolve
    purp1
     
  5. rabgary

    rabgary

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    123
    If it is just a regular file (not a registry entry) Unlocker works great.
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    There are many good Free Archivers, so just use one of them.

    Emco Move On Boot will remove the file, but rabgary's suggestion of Unlocker should do the job as well.

    What are you having trouble removing (What leads you to believe that it remains)?
     
  7. purp1

    purp1

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    wow ! @[email protected] Thanks for the fast response. okay here's what happens. I go into the program files and try to delete the program. when i try this i get a window that says "Cannot delete RarExt.dll.0.tmp:Access is denied." then it says Make sure the disk is not full or write-protected and that the file is not currently in use. Also the actual software i had that needed the WinRAR was a free fractal file that was RAR. When i tried to use the software it kept telling me that it was using some part of TMP that was apart of WinRAR. I am so new at this, i don't know if i'm making sense or not. it all appeared to be linked. i can't get the actual fractal software to install correctly either. its the beta version thats getting messed up and i can't save the way the tutorial says to.

    boy, i really spilled the beans on this. hope i didn't go overboard. i have no idea what i'm talking about. >.< XD
     
  8. purp1

    purp1

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    okay well, the support person answered my email to WinRAR and their instructions worked. here's what it was:


    Hello,

    please reboot your computer / rename the remaining folder, reboot again, and
    follow the instructions to uninstall.

    If uninstall fails:
    ===================

    A reason can be a modification / deletion of the uninstall program.

    WinRAR is not responsible for this problem.

    Please download and install WinRAR again, and install it into the same folder.
    (same location as before). This will "repair" the uninstall program.

    WinRAR is available at the following link:
    http://www.win-rar.com/index.php?aid=download .

    Then you can safely uninstall WinRAR as usual.
     
  9. purp1

    purp1

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for your help. =]
     
  10. purp1

    purp1

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    i meant to everyone that responded, Thanks again. =]
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the upper right of the screen.© :)
     
  12. purp1

    purp1

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    hmmmm, all it gave to choose from was:show printable version, e-mail this page, unsubscribe from this thread. is it just me? i didn't find a thread solved button. :)
     
  13. ferrija1

    ferrija1

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
    That's because only the thread starter, goldcoaster, can mark it solved. Next time, create your own thread.
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, not "only" the thread starter can mark them. :D It's even "customized" for the multiple solutions. ;)
     
  15. ferrija1

    ferrija1

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
    Whatever... :p
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/543302

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice