Solved: Two Monitors on One Computer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

smooth

Garrett
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
4,029
Hi everyone :D

I had a question about running two monitors on one PC. Someone here wants to have two monitors running at the same time. Is this achieved by just adding another video card to the PC?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
Yes, unless your existing card has dual outputs.

I originally ran dual monitors using a second PCI card, this PC has a dual output (1 x DVI, 1 x VGA) that feeds 2 monitors.
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,118
What's the Make n Model of the computer ???

Like Kiwiguy said .. you have two choices ...
1) You have ... or will change the video card to one with a dual output.
2) Add a second Video card.

If you go adding or changing video cards ...
make sure the power supply is sufficient for the task.
Some Video cards require a larger Power Supply than is normally installed.
 

smooth

Garrett
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
4,029
Thanks for the replies guys :)

It's a Dell, I don't have the exact model right now, but I can get the information. I'm fairly confident it doesn't have dual outputs, since it probably just has integrated graphics right now. As long as the video card is compatatable, are there any other things that matter to be sure that both monitors will be able to be viewed?

I think I read somewhere that certain video cards don't allow it :confused:
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
I'd get a video card with dual outputs, its easier to work with one card that supports two monitors. If a new card has two monitor outputs then it supports two monitors. You just need to get the model number of the Dell to figure out the interface for the video card.
 

smooth

Garrett
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
4,029
Understood :D(y)

I'll try and get the model number today, and let you guys know. :) Thanks
 

smooth

Garrett
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
4,029
OK, I got the information about the computer :D

It is a Dell Dimension DIM 4600

He also wanted to know how much RAM the motherboard can support, and what type it is. Currently he has 512 MB of RAM, I figured going up to at least 1 GB would be good :)
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933

smooth

Garrett
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
4,029
Triple6 said:
Well it appears you have an AGP slot: http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/dim4600/en/4600i/sm/specs.htm#1119251
But maybe we should open up the computer and see if the top slot above all the white ones in different(usually brown and offset further then the rest).

But you have lots of cards to choose from: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...&Subcategory=48&description=&Ntk=&srchInDesc=
Just choose one with two outputs.
Thanks for the links Triple6 :)

This may be a crazy question, but which ones have the two outputs? I see that there are two output looking things on the back of some, but I have always known the display outputs to be blue. Are both of the output things on the back for monitors?
 

smooth

Garrett
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
4,029
Triple6 said:
Well it appears you have an AGP slot: http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/dim4600/en/4600i/sm/specs.htm#1119251
But maybe we should open up the computer and see if the top slot above all the white ones in different(usually brown and offset further then the rest).

But you have lots of cards to choose from: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...&Subcategory=48&description=&Ntk=&srchInDesc=
Just choose one with two outputs.
Thanks for the links Triple6 :)

This may be a crazy question, but which ones have the two outputs? I see that there are two output looking things on the back of some, but I have always known the display outputs to be blue. One is blue, and the other is silver. Are both of the output things on the back for monitors?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
The other connector on those cards is white actually. Its DVI and its what most new better LCD monitors use since its a digital connector. Most cards come with a DVI to D-Sub converter so you can use two analog monitors with it, therefore getting one with at least one DVI connection is a good idea.
 

smooth

Garrett
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
4,029
Sounds good :) So those should fit the computer, or should I open it up to make sure that the slot is correct?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
I'd make sure, Dell had some 4600's that only had PCI slots.
 

smooth

Garrett
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
4,029
Will do. I'll check it out tomorrow :)

Thanks for all the help. I'll keep you posted. :D
 

smooth

Garrett
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
4,029
Good thing I checked :)

It doesn't appear to have an AGP slot. The slot I see is a green color, next to all the white PCI slots. It is offset a little from them, but is green and looks similar to a PCI slot
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top