1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Two-router conflict

Discussion in 'Networking' started by momruoy, Jul 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. momruoy

    momruoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    I've recently tried to set up a wireless network at home, so I got myself a linksys wireless router (w/ 4 ethernet ports). The trouble is, when I try to plug the router into my existing DSL modem/router, the wireless router can't find the internet. (FYI: D-link DSL-2540B; Linksys WRT54GL)

    I initially thought that the problem was having DHCP enabled on both boxes, so I tried turning it off on the DSL modem/router and just let the wireless router assign all the IP addresses, but that still didn't work.

    I can connect to the internet if my computer is wired into the DSL modem just fine (as long as DHCP is on, obviously) but for whatever reason the wireless router refuses to cooperate.

    Does anyone have any ideas? I'm pretty sure this is a fairly common thing for someone to do (you know, connect a wireless router to a dsl router?) so I'm sure that I'm just overlooking the obvious in my n00b-ishness.
    Thanks in advance for your help!
     
  2. Wanderer2

    Wanderer2

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,428
    The isp has serialized your connection based on the mac address of your pc.

    Your router should have a page for cloning your pcs mac address. Do so and your router will work.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    It's quite probable (I was too lazy to check the router manuals) that both routers are using the same LAN subnet; e.g., 192.168.1.x. If so, you can change one of them; e.g., to 192.168.3.x. Make sure to change the Dhcp server addresses accordingly.

    A better way is to bridge the D-Link router so that it acts as a modem only.

    But, in my opinion, the preferred way is as follows.

    JohnWill's procedure for configuring a secondary router as a switch and, optionally, wireless access point follows.

    Connecting two SOHO broadband routers together.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!
     
  4. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
  5. momruoy

    momruoy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    I tried this, and it worked!

    Thank you!

    Although it took me a while to figure out just how to bridge this router. t turns out that bridging is one of the WAN options, and I was thinking it was a LAN option.
    After I set the WAN to bridging, I had to go into my wireless router and set the internet setup to PPPoE and fill in the fields the same as what they were in the DSL modem, and it worked perfectly!
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    You're welcome. Glad you got it all figured out.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/732525