Solved: Unable to access neither Firefox nor IE

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jimmcq

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
223
Need help, please,
It looks as though I have "broken" my wife's computer. I have been trying to repopulate her system after I did a Windows reinstall. Yesterday AM when she tried to get online several of the desk top icons have been replaced by miniature versions of Control Panel. I am unable to get on line with either Firefox or IE. When I click what used to be Firefox I get the following error message window: Title: Problem with Shortcut, The item 'Firefox.exe that this shortcut refers to has been changed or removed, so this shortcut will no longer work properly. Do you want to delete this shortcut? Y or N". Clicking on the IE icon causes the screen to "blink", more of a background flash, quickly and there is no change in the display. I have a strong signal, 4 out of 4 bars. I use the same server on my system. The only thing new on the system is "Open Freely" which I downloaded to try to open some of the programs in "Windows.old" which supposedly contains all of the programs which were installed prior to reinstalling Windows.
Any help will be greatly appreciated by my wife and me, of course.
Jim
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
You seem to have had quite a few problems lately with that computer. Another reinstall might be in order...

http://forums.techguy.org/web-email/1141501-adobe-flash.html

http://forums.techguy.org/virus-other-malware-removal/1143669-spyhunter4.html

http://forums.techguy.org/9041447-post74.html

What exactly is that Word lookalike program?

I bought a Word like program for $25. The tech at the repair store said that it would take an experienced Microsoft person to tell that this is not Word.
------------------------------------------------------------------

Please download and run MGADiag.

  • Double-click on MGADiag.exe to launch the program
  • Click "Continue"
  • Ensure that the "Windows" tab is selected (it should be by default).
  • Click the "Copy" button to copy the MGA Diagnostic Report to the Windows clipboard.
  • Paste the MGA Diagnostic Report back here in your next reply.
 

jimmcq

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
223
Phantom,
I hope you are joking about reloading Windows. I'll take it back to the repair shop first. The Word-like program is (Firefox is killing me. It's crashing often sometimes only 30 seconds between crashes.) The latest crash was just after I started typing the part in ('s.) WPS Writer.Ink by Kingsoft Office Spftyware, Co. I'll go back to your post and see what else you had to say.

I know its unrelated but what can I do about FF crashes?

Jim
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
I was joking, yes and no. Your situation seems a bit complicated. Furthermore, your computer is compromised by malware. It might be fixable, but a reinstall could be easier.

As for your Word alternative, you didn't have to pay. You could have downloaded a complete office suite for free:

LibreOffice
 

jimmcq

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
223
I have LibreOffice but it doesn't seem to want to "play" every thing I ask it to. Can't recall what in particular at the moment.

I asked this before but I have forgotten the response, where do I find Windows clipboard?
 

jimmcq

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
223
When you said "your computer" did you mine or my wife's? If hers is compromised by malware I'm taking it back to the shop.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
I have LibreOffice but it doesn't seem to want to "play" every thing I ask it to. Can't recall what in particular at the moment.

I asked this before but I have forgotten the response, where do I find Windows clipboard?
Don't bother with clipboard. Simply copy and then paste the content into your next reply.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801

jimmcq

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
223
Diagnostic Report (1.9.0027.0):
-----------------------------------------
Windows Validation Data-->

Validation Code: 0
Cached Online Validation Code: 0x0
Windows Product Key: *****-*****-QCPVQ-KHRB8-RMV82
Windows Product Key Hash: +Rj3N34NLM2JqoBO/OzgzTZXgbY=
Windows Product ID: 00359-OEM-8992687-00095
Windows Product ID Type: 2
Windows License Type: OEM SLP
Windows OS version: 6.1.7601.2.00010300.1.0.003
ID: {DA236A34-6B58-4E02-99CA-52F701DC2CE1}(1)
Is Admin: Yes
TestCab: 0x0
LegitcheckControl ActiveX: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
Product Name: Windows 7 Home Premium
Architecture: 0x00000009
Build lab: 7601.win7sp1_gdr.150113-1808
TTS Error:
Validation Diagnostic:
Resolution Status: N/A

Vista WgaER Data-->
ThreatID(s): N/A, hr = 0x80070002
Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

Windows XP Notifications Data-->
Cached Result: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
File Exists: No
Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
WgaTray.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
WgaLogon.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

OGA Notifications Data-->
Cached Result: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
OGAExec.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
OGAAddin.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

OGA Data-->
Office Status: 109 N/A
OGA Version: N/A, 0x80070002
Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
Office Diagnostics: 025D1FF3-364-80041010_025D1FF3-229-80041010_025D1FF3-230-1_025D1FF3-517-80040154_025D1FF3-237-80040154_025D1FF3-238-2_025D1FF3-244-80070002_025D1FF3-258-3

Browser Data-->
Proxy settings: N/A
User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Win32)
Default Browser: C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
Download signed ActiveX controls: Prompt
Download unsigned ActiveX controls: Disabled
Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins: Allowed
Initialize and script ActiveX controls not marked as safe: Disabled
Allow scripting of Internet Explorer Webbrowser control: Disabled
Active scripting: Allowed
Script ActiveX controls marked as safe for scripting: Allowed

File Scan Data-->

Other data-->
Office Details: <GenuineResults><MachineData><UGUID>{DA236A34-6B58-4E02-99CA-52F701DC2CE1}</UGUID><Version>1.9.0027.0</Version><OS>6.1.7601.2.00010300.1.0.003</OS><Architecture>x64</Architecture><PKey>*****-*****-*****-*****-RMV82</PKey><PID>00359-OEM-8992687-00095</PID><PIDType>2</PIDType><SID>S-1-5-21-3328831447-2885338929-3485751759</SID><SYSTEM><Manufacturer>Dell Inc.</Manufacturer><Model>Inspiron One 2305</Model></SYSTEM><BIOS><Manufacturer>Dell Inc.</Manufacturer><Version>A08</Version><SMBIOSVersion major="2" minor="6"/><Date>20110916000000.000000+000</Date></BIOS><HWID>92723107018400F4</HWID><UserLCID>0409</UserLCID><SystemLCID>0409</SystemLCID><TimeZone>Pacific Standard Time(GMT-08:00)</TimeZone><iJoin>0</iJoin><SBID><stat>3</stat><msppid></msppid><name></name><model></model></SBID><OEM><OEMID>DELL </OEMID><OEMTableID>FL09 </OEMTableID></OEM><GANotification/></MachineData><Software><Office><Result>109</Result><Products/><Applications/></Office></Software></GenuineResults>

Spsys.log Content: 0x80070002

Licensing Data-->
Software licensing service version: 6.1.7601.17514

Name: Windows(R) 7, HomePremium edition
Description: Windows Operating System - Windows(R) 7, OEM_SLP channel
Activation ID: d2c04e90-c3dd-4260-b0f3-f845f5d27d64
Application ID: 55c92734-d682-4d71-983e-d6ec3f16059f
Extended PID: 00359-00178-926-800095-02-1033-7601.0000-0262012
Installation ID: 021406318273863505491083097110670604822664877873551451
Processor Certificate URL: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=88338
Machine Certificate URL: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=88339
Use License URL: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=88341
Product Key Certificate URL: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=88340
Partial Product Key: RMV82
License Status: Licensed
Remaining Windows rearm count: 3
Trusted time: 2/24/2015 1:58:58 PM

Windows Activation Technologies-->
HrOffline: 0x00000000
HrOnline: N/A
HealthStatus: 0x0000000000000000
Event Time Stamp: N/A
ActiveX: Registered, Version: 7.1.7600.16395
Admin Service: Registered, Version: 7.1.7600.16395
HealthStatus Bitmask Output:


HWID Data-->
HWID Hash Current: LgAAAAEAAQABAAEAAAACAAAAAgABAAEA6GEqG/KiTI7+Yz4/oKpNExD+yAMYeQ==

OEM Activation 1.0 Data-->
N/A

OEM Activation 2.0 Data-->
BIOS valid for OA 2.0: yes
Windows marker version: 0x20001
OEMID and OEMTableID Consistent: yes
BIOS Information:
ACPI Table Name OEMID Value OEMTableID Value
APIC DELL FL09
FACP DELL FL09
HPET ALASKA A M I
MCFG ALASKA A M I
SLIC DELL FL09
SSDT A M I POWERNOW
OSFR DELL M08


Pls let me know if you find any thing interesting. I'll start referring to the computers as His or Her's. Will that help?
 

jimmcq

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
223
Yes, I am stuck with Spyhunter 4. It locates programs but it wants me to pay to get rid of them.
Jim
 

jimmcq

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
223
Spyhunter4 is on His computer, Jim's. How stupid of me, my wife is Maggie, I'm Jim. That should remove all confusion if I simply use our names.


Any clue as to why I can't access either FF or IE on Maggie's computer?


That huge file I sent you is from Jim's computer so I don't think it will help you much. Can I put MGADiag on a disc and load it onto Maggie's computer and run the diagnostic that way?


I'm back to feeling helpless. The good news is that I'm on IE and things are better here.


Jim
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Can you run Firefox or IE by going to their C:\Program Files folder and clicking on their executable files?

As for MGADiag, it's for the computer you took to the shop.
 

jimmcq

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
223
I HATE!! Firefox with a passion! It crashed 3 times while I was trying to respond to your last post! I put Techguy.org on to my fvorites in IE. I'm on Jim's computer as I type. Firefox's crashes don't make sense, Maggie's computer and Jim's use the same communications channel to get on line but FF never crashed Maggie's computer, not once.


Answer to your last question on Maggie's computer: Firefox is not listed in Programs, IE is but it does the same thing when I try to access it; a "flash" and then nothing.


Question: can I use Jim's computer to download MGADiag onto a disk and run it on Maggie's computer? If it works then I can put the diagonstics result on a disk and post it to you.


Jim
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Question: can I use Jim's computer to download MGADiag onto a disk and run it on Maggie's computer? If it works then I can put the diagonstics result on a disk and post it to you.
Yes. You could use a USB flash drive to save MGADiag on it, then plug it into Maggie's computer and save to desktop before running.

As for Firefox on Jim's computer, that type of problem is caused 9 times out of 10 by add-ons. Try running Firefox in Safe Mode (with add-ons disabled) for a while to see if it's still crashing. If it's not, then you'll need to isolate the faulty add-on and remove it.

How to Start Firefox in Safe Mode
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top