1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: unable to activate xp

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by oldgadget, Apr 4, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. oldgadget

    oldgadget Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Hello Tech guys, Thanks for birthday greetings.
    I have a problem activating xp pro sp3 online on a very old laptop. The server appears to be shut down and I only have PAYG mobile so landline activation is prohibitively expensive, is there, now that xp is officially dead, a workaround.
    The computer is only used to run car diagnostics, and is old 'cos software and leads require serial and parallel ports. Any help would be appreciated.
    I have spent an appreciable amount of time "googling" for the answer, but got nowhere.
     
  2. CleaverX

    CleaverX

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    If you are installing the original OEM version of Windows that came with the laptop, you should not need to activate it. What are you doing exactly?
     
  3. oldgadget

    oldgadget Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    I am using a Genuine xp disc and clen installing on an old laptop that had w2k on it, lappy does not have any networking so installed a wireless dongle which happily accesses the net, but when trying to activate the fresh install the ms server says it's down, try again later.
    The lappy originally came with w95.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,752
    First Name:
    Frank
    If that laptop originally came with Windows 95, it will likely be too old and too slow to install and run Windows XP.

    What brand name and model name and model number is it?

    What is its processor type and speed?

    How much RAM does it have?

    What is the capacity of its hard drive?

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. oldgadget

    oldgadget Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    233 cpu, 10gb hdd, 256 ram. xp sp3 installed and runs reasonably, just one prog will be run on it as per 1st post.
    dell latitude cpi
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,752
    First Name:
    Frank
    That's a 17- 18 year old laptop that supports a maximum of 128 MB of RAM.

    I'm surprised you have 256 MB in it.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. oldgadget

    oldgadget Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    yup but it still works! original battery as well AND it still holds it charge. They made them properly in those days. install from partition on hdd took 24 hrs.

    Still boots quicker than my w7 lappy.
     
  8. oldgadget

    oldgadget Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    still can't activate online
     
  9. oldgadget

    oldgadget Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    xpprocorp-key-changer.exe seems to have done the trick, a really old bit of software I had squirreled away, found whilst going thro' my old floppies. I did use the correct key, NOT one that was generated by the prog.
     
  10. oldgadget

    oldgadget Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    52
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,752
    First Name:
    Frank
    None of us monitor these forums 24/7 and reply back immediately.

    Glad to hear you got your activation issue resolved.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
  13. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,752
    First Name:
    Frank
  14. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    I suspect it would struggle with 7 though. ;)
     
  15. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    FYI the Windows XP activation and teh updates servers are not shut down, you can activate and download Windows XP updates even though the support for XP is over.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved unable activate
  1. mikequest3
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,013
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1145981

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice