1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Unable to connect to a wireless network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jasjbb, Nov 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jasjbb

    jasjbb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I'm on a Dell Inspiron 530 using an Intel 82562V-2 wireless adapter.

    Ever since my PC fell asleep while I was updating to iOS 5.0 on my iPhone, I havent had wireless.

    It's not acknowledging my network.
    I think it's a "switch"... but have no clue where that would be.

    Any thoughts/ideas on a fix?


    I'm at a complete loss for ideas.

    Thanks,
    -JasJBB
     
  2. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    727
    Is the iphone still plugged in?
     
  3. jasjbb

    jasjbb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    No, it occurred about a month and a half ago.

    I need to know where my wireless "switch" is on my desktop. Any ideas?
     
  4. jasjbb

    jasjbb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Is there a general "hot key" or combination that would toggle the wireless on and off?

    I can get surrounding signals, but just not MINE.

    HELPPPP!
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,865
    First Name:
    Terry
    Dell uses Fn + F2 for the wireless switch.

    Then the computer's wireless must be on. Is the router's wireless enabled? What does its WLAN LED indicate? Can another device detect your router's wireless signal?
     
  6. jasjbb

    jasjbb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    No, router's "wireless" light is not on. Does that mean the router is bad? It's a Belkin G+, had it about 2+ years. Was a nominal buy at the time for $59.

    Fn+F2 did nothing... I'm using a wireless Logitech S150 keyboard. Nothing about additional hotkeys to be found anywhere (manual, online, etc).
     
  7. jasjbb

    jasjbb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Sorry, uncertain of what WLAN LED is.

    No devices can detect the signal. iPhone, Windows phone, laptop, iPad, Nook Color.

    I can email you cmd ipconfig /all if it would have any insight.
     
  8. hpb

    hpb

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Is this the one you have?

    http://www.belkin.com/pressroom/releases/uploads/assets/media/hi-res/F5D9231-4.jpg

    If its the first one, then you need to check if the light next to the 'Router' is solid green. If this is off, then it means there is something wrong with the router itself.

    Then you need to check if the light next to 'Wireless' is green and steady or amber and blinking. If its amber then no computers are connected through Wifi.

    From the looks of it, it seems your router seems to have gone kaput since none of your other devices are also unable to detect it.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,865
    First Name:
    Terry
    My bad. When you mentioned "switch" I just assumed you had a laptop. I see you actually have a desktop.
     
  10. jasjbb

    jasjbb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    HBP:
    Yes, that is the exact router.
    "Router" light is green and on.
    "Wireless" light is off. Not green or amber/blinking.

    My intial (uninformed) diagnosis was a bad router, but since I still had an internet connection to the PC while it was plugged in and "wired", I dismissed this theory.

    Thank you for this post, as I will re-purchase the Netgear router I previously bought but later returned... and will follow-up with results.

    -Jason
     
  11. jasjbb

    jasjbb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    After the purchase of a Belkin N600 router from Best Buy, the wireless problem has been resolved.
    Wifi has been restored to all devices.

    Thanks to you all for your help with this issue.
    -Jason
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1028720

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice