1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Unable to connect to any wireless networks

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Gameguy3, May 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gameguy3

    Gameguy3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    just setup a new router works fine for other devices (tablets, phones) but my laptop now cant connect to any networks that my laptops detects. When I click on a network nothing happens, I've also tried manually adding the network to automatically connect to it but again nothing happened. Can anyone help? thanks.
     
  2. UCanFixit

    UCanFixit

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    231
    Can you give us your laptop name and model number please?
     
  3. Gameguy3

    Gameguy3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    if this helps theres a red x on the wireless network connection, and my laptop is a acer aspire v3-771G, and the wireless was working before the router setup but now it doesnt
     
  4. UCanFixit

    UCanFixit

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    231
    OK, thanks for that. It looks like your laptop should have no problem matching up with your (unknown) router so let me ask a few more questions:

    Can you access the internet if you use a wired connection from the laptop to the router? If not, are you familiar with the ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew commands that can be run from an administrative command prompt. BTW, what is your router make/model and what OS are you using?
     
  5. Gameguy3

    Gameguy3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    ive done ipconfig renew on administrator and didnt work,if i use the network cable from the router internet works (thats how im using it right now) the router is an asus RT-AC66U and im iusing windows 7
     
  6. Gameguy3

    Gameguy3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks for all your help, but I found out that I had some corrupted files for some reason. I used the command "sfc /scannow" and now my laptop is able to connect to my wireless networks.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1099047

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice