Solved: Unable to connect to internet (windows vista)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Silus

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2011
Messages
7
Was able to connect to my network fine a couple of days ago. Now It doesn't want to work.

Everytime I try it seems like I connected (the little blue globe symbol displays) but when I try and go to a webpage, the connection times out or moves slow. When I run diagnose and repair it tells me that this computer has "limited or no connectivity" even though I'm able to connect to other networks. Selecting the "automatically get new IP settings" and "reset network adapter" options don't work. After selecting these earlier it was telling me "unable to connect to primary DNS server", then it was telling me "windows has confirmed this computer is currently experiencing a network connectivity problem". Now it's telling me there is no problem in spite of the slow connection.

I don't think my wireless adapter is the issue, I'm able to connect to other networks fine. I don't think the router/modem is the issue, there's another computer in the house (that I don't own) as well as my xbox hooked up wireless to it with no problem.
 

Silus

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2011
Messages
7
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Silus-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-FA-62-C8-34
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c0c:2d97:d6c0:4ac9%11(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.74.201(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234889978
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-00-79-3B-00-22-FA-62-C8-34

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : 821.geek.local
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E
Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-5A-3C-14-F9
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.821.geek.local
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from your laptop manufacturer's web site.

Disable encryption on the router and try to connect. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect.
 

Silus

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2011
Messages
7
Terry, It turns out I didn't have up to date drivers for my wireless adapter. Thanks for pointing that out. I downloaded and installed the most recent one from Intel's website. That seemed to alleviate the problem for a few minutes, but now I'm still getting the same problems.

How exactly would I go about disabling the encryption on my router? I think I'm supposed to just type the IP address into my web browser (Firefox), right?
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
I said:
... latest wireless driver from your laptop manufacturer's web site.
You said:
... the most recent one from Intel's website.
Intel says (e.g., near the bottom of this page):
Intel is a supplier of laptop components and does not manufacture or sell complete laptop systems. The software provided by Intel below is a generic version. Each laptop computer original equipment manufacturer (OEM) may have altered the features, incorporated customizations, or made other changes to the software or software packaging they provide. The software provided has not been verified by your laptop manufacturer as to compatibility or other operation.
Years ago I learned the hard way that Dell had modified the driver for the Intel 2200bg adapter in my Inspiron 8600.

Type the router's IP address into your browser's address bar, login, navigate to the wireless section and find the encryption (or security) mode setting. The user manual, usually on CD and the manufacturer's web site, has details.

But there is no need to play with the encryption if you can now get a connection.
 

Silus

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2011
Messages
7
I hadn't considered that part about the drivers, thanks. I'll keep that in mind in the future.

I think I've resolved the problem with my network. Apparently, all I had to do was go into network and sharing, remove the network and then re-add the network.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
You can mark this solved using the
button at the upper left of the page.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top