1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Unable to connect to internet (windows vista)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Silus, Nov 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Silus

    Silus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Was able to connect to my network fine a couple of days ago. Now It doesn't want to work.

    Everytime I try it seems like I connected (the little blue globe symbol displays) but when I try and go to a webpage, the connection times out or moves slow. When I run diagnose and repair it tells me that this computer has "limited or no connectivity" even though I'm able to connect to other networks. Selecting the "automatically get new IP settings" and "reset network adapter" options don't work. After selecting these earlier it was telling me "unable to connect to primary DNS server", then it was telling me "windows has confirmed this computer is currently experiencing a network connectivity problem". Now it's telling me there is no problem in spite of the slow connection.

    I don't think my wireless adapter is the issue, I'm able to connect to other networks fine. I don't think the router/modem is the issue, there's another computer in the house (that I don't own) as well as my xbox hooked up wireless to it with no problem.
     
  2. Silus

    Silus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Silus-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-FA-62-C8-34
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c0c:2d97:d6c0:4ac9%11(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.74.201(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234889978
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-00-79-3B-00-22-FA-62-C8-34

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : 821.geek.local
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E
    Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-5A-3C-14-F9
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.821.geek.local
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,805
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from your laptop manufacturer's web site.

    Disable encryption on the router and try to connect. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect.
     
  4. Silus

    Silus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Terry, It turns out I didn't have up to date drivers for my wireless adapter. Thanks for pointing that out. I downloaded and installed the most recent one from Intel's website. That seemed to alleviate the problem for a few minutes, but now I'm still getting the same problems.

    How exactly would I go about disabling the encryption on my router? I think I'm supposed to just type the IP address into my web browser (Firefox), right?
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,805
    First Name:
    Terry
    I said:
    You said:
    Intel says (e.g., near the bottom of this page):
    Years ago I learned the hard way that Dell had modified the driver for the Intel 2200bg adapter in my Inspiron 8600.

    Type the router's IP address into your browser's address bar, login, navigate to the wireless section and find the encryption (or security) mode setting. The user manual, usually on CD and the manufacturer's web site, has details.

    But there is no need to play with the encryption if you can now get a connection.
     
  6. Silus

    Silus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I hadn't considered that part about the drivers, thanks. I'll keep that in mind in the future.

    I think I've resolved the problem with my network. Apparently, all I had to do was go into network and sharing, remove the network and then re-add the network.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,805
    First Name:
    Terry
    You can mark this solved using the [​IMG] button at the upper left of the page.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025585

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice